PDA

View Full Version : Fatal Segmentation Error


h0tice
02-09-2004, 08:48 AM
hi there,

we are rendering using render farm, and we are encountering this kind of problem in Maya5.0,

FATAL SEGMENTATION ERRORR

does anyone experienced this kind of error, or does anyone know a workaround?

thanx

playmesumch00ns
02-09-2004, 06:10 PM
Seg faults often mean you're running out of memory. Check the ram usage on your boxes and see if it's going through the roof.

Otherwise, are you using any plugins? If so, they might be the cause...

If it's neither of the above, try takling stuff out of the scene until it goes through, then you've found your culprit. See if you can render that element seperately or replace it.

h0tice
02-11-2004, 12:34 AM
thanx playmesumch00ns, we'll work into it.

toonwookie
02-27-2004, 05:15 PM
Seqmentation faults are normally caused by memory issues, but when running on a renderfarm maya can output alot of temporary files ( ie crap ) this can fill up your relatively small local disks on the rendermachines. This will cause those renderfarms to crash as the disks fill up and there is no space to page, it will also slow down your rendermachines as the dsiks approach 95 % full. This is particularly a problem
on windows machines but hopefully you are using linux. To aviod this run a script regularly (about ever 10 mins ) that checks your tmp directories and removes crap.

Other tips to avoid seqmentation faults :
make sure all your renderfarm has the same amount of memory on each machine and more than or equal to your workstations

Remember if you are rendering on a dual processor machines you need twice as much memory to be safe.

Aviod 3d motion blur if possible.

Aviod raytracing if possible.

Aviod Large scale scenes for some reason maya does not like scenes that are large in scale ie area not poly count ( however maya doesn't like these either )

Split up your scenes and comp levels together where possible.

Check scenes for unused nodes and plug ins.

It is unfortunate but running large scale projects on a large scale renderfarm with maya is problematic, we had a hundred processor farm running maya renders ( using alfred ) and we always had a MINIMUM 25% failure rate when rendering with maya ( this was 3.0 and not mental ray). I think this is why they give you 9999 licences free! We now render with renderman which is comparatively expensive but much more stable ( but still along way from perfect !).

h0tice
02-28-2004, 04:25 PM
thanx for that insight toonwookie.

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 09:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.