PDA

View Full Version : Animation: In-Game Character

Onions
02-05-2004, 03:43 PM
Hi, this is the first time that I've posted for a critique, so please go easy on me (if you can). Thanks.

I'd like opinions on this animation here...

http://nickbusby.dcnhub.com/animations/HitHead.mov

What I used: 3D Studio Max and it's key framing for the animation.

This is my first attempt (or one that succeeded) in rigging and skinning a model in a "professional" way (or the ways I've read from tutorials). In that I mean it consists of one mesh, one texture, and bones that effect the mesh without any deformation of structure, other than what I had intended (for a while I could not get the bones to effect my mesh correctly...).

Anyway, I animated every single bone throughout the animation in hopes of giving it more life. Is this something advisable? I think it worked well, but I know I'm no expert on key framing, knowing all that's available and the ins and outs, so there was a ton of key frames in my animation making it very hard to edit if I wanted to. I assume more experienced people have some other way of doing this and making it less "cluttered".
If there's any simple answer to this I'd appreciate it explained (or if you have the time to explain something not that simple, that's fine too).

Thanks for your comments and/or input.

Maive
02-06-2004, 10:28 PM
hehehe cute http://humlink.humanities.mcmaster.ca/~chanj/panda.gif

CGmonkey
02-06-2004, 11:33 PM
Well I would've adviced you not to keyframe every bone when moving you're character. It would probably be wise in an idle stance so it doesn't look too static.

His movements are a bit "rubberish" and too fluid. If you're on alert (as he seems to be) you're going to be very tensed. And unless you're hit by a tank your head are not going to bounce back that hard(or his head weighs too much for his bodytype:P) try to pull some weight down on the hit.