PDA

View Full Version : question: face counts in max..


Titan
01-29-2004, 04:40 AM
I'm pretty sure about this already, but somebody questioned me on it and I wanted to ask to be sure.

in max when you go to file/summary info... the face count is listed in tri's not quads, correct?

h0pesfall
01-29-2004, 05:10 AM
Depends if you're in editable poly or editable mesh. first will count quads, latter will count tris. That's how it works with the polygon counter tho, pretty sure it's the same with summary.

Ivars
01-29-2004, 07:28 AM
Yep. Youre right h0pesfall.

Titan: heres some good ways to get the correct count:
1. Convert to editable mesh and use whatever polycounter (HUD, Polygon Counter, Summary Info)
2. Add a STL Check modifier to the top of your stack and use any of the counters.
3. Just hit render button and look at the scene statistics. (Press pause unless your computer renders really slow : ))

John-Stetzer
01-29-2004, 07:39 AM
Originally posted by Ivars
1. Convert to editable mesh and use whatever polycounter (HUD, Polygon Counter, Summary Info)

Having a mesh conversion modifier like Turn to Mesh or Mesh Select at the top of the stack will save the roundtrip conversion, assuming one would still want to model using Epoly.

Titan
01-29-2004, 07:51 AM
thanks all, I think I got it sorted..I appreciate the help:)

EricChadwick
01-29-2004, 03:25 PM
I like Juan Martinez' EPolyCounter script... no need to mess with the stack, gives a constant update, sub-object vs. whole, etc. Very nice.
http://www.juantwo.com/

Razorwolf
01-29-2004, 03:33 PM
Does that work in Max6?

EricChadwick
01-29-2004, 05:30 PM
Dunno. I'm in 5.1, but it's a script, and I've heard that most 4/5 scripts work in 6.

dgainous
01-31-2004, 07:42 AM
My method of getting the Tricount in max is to put the HSDS modifier on the mesh. then the polygon counter seems to read every Tri as opposed to the quads.

Tulkas
02-01-2004, 10:44 PM
another way is to convert your object into editable mesh, turn on edge selection, then select all and click on visible under the surface properties

with q you can see then the triangles count (dunno, if the shortcut is standart) otherwise use polycounter

Tulkas
02-01-2004, 10:51 PM
another way is to convert your object into editable mesh, turn on edge selection, then select all and click on visible under the surface properties

with q you can see then the triangles count (dunno, if the shortcut is standart) otherwise use polycounter

Tulkas
02-01-2004, 11:07 PM
another way is to convert your object into editable mesh, turn on edge selection, then select all and click on visible under the surface properties

with q you can see then the triangles count (dunno, if the shortcut is standart) otherwise use polycounter

Beaneh
02-02-2004, 01:07 PM
yes yes, we got your point.

Tulkas
02-02-2004, 01:25 PM
...sorry had problems with the browser :-/

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.