PDA

View Full Version : twist error @ reverse foot lock setup


delaque
01-23-2004, 05:13 PM
hello!

i'm trying to rig a character and want to use the 'reverse foot lock' setup. i've read some tutorials about it (eg. by Steven J. Tubbrit (http://www.steven-tubbrit.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/Tutorials/Tutorial_04_Page_003.htm) and Javier Solsona (http://www.vfs.com/~m07goosh/Tutorials/reversefootlock/reversefootlock.htm) ) but i'm getting really strange results:

http://delaque.pilgerer.org/cg/twist1.jpg http://delaque.pilgerer.org/cg/twist2.jpg

as you can see on the images, the leg/foot twists at a certain position (the foot does something similar in another position)
for this setup i followed exactly tubbrits tutorial (ikRPSolver for the leg and ikSCSolver for the foot, both parented to the reverse foot bones), and remade it several times but i'm always getting the twisting.
i've also downloaded his final .mb file, there everything is ok.
the same with solsonas .mb, it works perfectly but when i'm doing the setup myself, again, it's crap at certain positions...

btw,... the first strange reaction appears when i'm creating the SCSolver: then the ankle and ball bones rotate a random value around their y-axis(parallel to the bones direction)...

i'm really annoyed now because i can't find the reason for this error ....
it would be very nice if someone could tell me what i'm doing wrong.

thx and greetings, delaque

Lomax
01-23-2004, 05:56 PM
the leg twisting might be fixed by adding a pole vector constraint.
Not sure about the foot...

delaque
01-23-2004, 06:44 PM
i have a pole vector constraint, it's just hidden on the rig_controls layer ;)

cfinley
01-23-2004, 07:07 PM
What version of Maya are you using? I'm pretty sure there was a bug in 5.0 with with the SCsolver. The 5.0.1 patch fixed it. If you are using 5.0, hope that helps.

The-Shadow-TS
01-24-2004, 09:14 PM
I had this problem when I used point constraint to link the inverse foot rig to the ik on the foot, us parent or parent constraint instead.

Good luck,
The-Shadow-TS

delaque
01-26-2004, 07:08 AM
many thanks to cfinley

it was a bug in maya 5.0!
yeeeeee.... now i can finish the rig and start animation :bounce:

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.