PDA

View Full Version : Best Approach??


brobins
06-25-2002, 04:41 PM
Hello,

What would be the best way to take a 3D wireframe autocad drawing into photoshop for rendering?

It is a drawing of a house,

Any thoughts?

Thanks

leigh
06-25-2002, 05:17 PM
If you can export the vector information from AutoCAD as an EPS file, then you can use it in Photoshop by making a new document, and using the Place command. :)

brobins
06-25-2002, 05:35 PM
Hi,

Yes I think you can export to EPS, but wouldnt there be lines that i wouldnt want ? like from the other side of the house etc?

Cheers

leigh
06-25-2002, 06:01 PM
Ummm... I'm not quite sure what you mean :surprised
It would appear in Photoshop exactly how it appears on your screen, surely...

brobins
06-25-2002, 06:11 PM
sorry, i mean i suppose i would have to go into illustrator first and take out some not needed lines,

thanks

MasterZap
06-25-2002, 06:35 PM
Dont export to EPS, use the PLOT command and plot to "file" as an EPS... then you have the option to "remove hidden lines". Et viola.


/Z

Grey
06-25-2002, 07:07 PM
I have a solution for you which will probably work best, it has to do with a function in Rhino called "Make2D" which allows projection of any set of splinecurves onto the construction plane from any angle the camera happens to be pointing at it.

These curves, once projected, can be exported to .AI and used either in Adobe Illustrator, Corel Draw or XARA to convert to Raster before bringing them into Photoshop.

Rhino will import the DWG file directly.

You can download a fully functional demo of rhino here: http://www.rhino3d.com

And if you don't have a vector illustration program to enit the .AI file you can download a fully functional demo of XARA here: http://www.xara.com

brobins
06-25-2002, 07:27 PM
Grey, thanks that sounds good,

i have illustrator so that wont be a problem,

could you show me a sample of this "make 2d" thing please

cheers

Grey
06-25-2002, 08:14 PM
http://www.posergallery.com/wip/20020625-Grey15186.jpg

rendering of the Primitives...

and here's a screencap with the curves projected according to the view:
http://www.posergallery.com/wip/20020625-Grey15200.jpg

I can email you the .AI file I created using them if you like.

brobins
06-25-2002, 08:17 PM
yes please m8, thanks

Grey
06-25-2002, 08:17 PM
I need your email address :D

brobins
06-25-2002, 08:18 PM
robins2001@blueyonder.co.uk

Grey
06-25-2002, 08:22 PM
you've got mail :bounce:

brobins
06-25-2002, 08:26 PM
so you started with the Ai file and projected it?

Grey
06-25-2002, 08:32 PM
no.

I started with 3D models, and projected them onto a flat surface based on the Camera view.

the resulting 2D curves were then exported to .AI and sent to you.

brobins
06-25-2002, 08:34 PM
ahh,

it just looked a little distorted,

would it be possible to have it at this view, but just the facing lines showing?

http://www.posergallery.com/wip/20020625-Grey15186.jpg

Grey
06-25-2002, 08:43 PM
oh shoot.

I know why that happened...

I'm resending the file!

When I exported it I said "snapeshot of screen" and did it from the perspective screen... like a dummy...

yes you can get exactly that view.

blankslatejoe
06-25-2002, 08:53 PM
thats grey for you, the know it all xarafiend. :)

hey xarafiend... that sounds kinda cool, like a quake villian...

I'm sure there's another workaround involving importing a simple render with high contrast colors applied to each face, then screwing with levels and channels in photoshop, but that would take far too much tinkering to get right, so listen to grey.

goodluck!

brobins
06-25-2002, 09:57 PM
ok ive done it,

i used the plot way, as stated by Master Zap, thanks :)

here is the eps,

brobins
06-25-2002, 09:58 PM
i took the eps into illustator and took out the un needed line etc and here is the final ready for texturing in photoshop,

brobins
06-25-2002, 11:44 PM
Ok ive made a start on adding some colours and a little noise to give it a texture,

Do you think I am approaching this in the wright way?

How do you recomand I get the detail and shadows in etc?

Thanks

brobins
06-26-2002, 12:06 AM
Changed the colours to match my house more,

Grey
06-26-2002, 01:16 AM
very very nice!

brobins
06-26-2002, 12:42 PM
Thanks Grey :D

Do you have any sugestions on how I could go about to make this more visualy realistic?

Keep in mind this hole thing is mearly a test exercise, I will start the final once the full 3D drawing is complete in Autocad.

Cheers,

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 10:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.