PDA

View Full Version : Books or Tutorials on Painting in Photoshop!

D7akeshi
01-17-2004, 10:39 AM
HI!! I'm new to this whole world of digital painting....
Any recommendation of books or online tutorials would be much appreciated!!!!

Question: i'm pretty much starting from scrach in terms of painting, in fact, I'm starting my first painting class this semester.
So for u pros out there, how much of a correlation is there between traditional painting and digital painting? My goal is to be able to produce works like the ones posted in the gallery (in two years time...a bit of a strech here, but it's my goal:) ).

How crucial is knowledge of tradition painting in this case???

thx for ur time!

bumskee
01-17-2004, 03:38 PM
traditional painting?? digital painting???
it's the same thing, you are just on a different medium. all the theory and stuff behind traditional applies to the digital. just different ways of working with colour. painting it seems is lot more than just applying colours to canvas, as you probably know, so if you are starting from scratch you would have to study everything.

drawing will help you with forms and a quick way of visually outlining where you wanna go, and certainly studying colours will cruicial. I have a book by johannes itten, colour theory book, very good indeed.

as for techinical side of painting in photoshop/painter, it will take time and there is no short cut. Actually painting in general have no short cut just practice after practice.

good luck

batavia
01-17-2004, 07:23 PM
Actually painting in general have no short cut just practice after practice.

Very true indeed. The thing with traditional painting is the randomness with the brush strokes. With photoshop of course you can simulate such thing, and only the best digital artists can achieve the similar feel.

phoenix
04-06-2005, 08:27 AM
hi

u can try out this book ...

Digital character design and painting - the photoshop CS edition...

Regards

Therains
04-06-2005, 12:26 PM