PDA

View Full Version : Animation: Killer Whale/Orca swim test

mladenr
01-16-2004, 03:46 PM
Saw these great creatures on TV one day, so I decided to make 1 of mine.

http://www.4balllab.com/tests/4balllabcom_orca_swim_test_still.jpg
sample pic

You can see an animation test, 357Kb, Divx 5.1. (http://www.4balllab.com/tests/4balllabcom_orca_swim_test.avi)

This is my first attempt to animate something of this sort, so please, if you have any suggestions how to improve it, let me know. Also, if you have any links about fish/whale kinematics, please share them with me...

Greetz.

boboroshi
01-16-2004, 04:39 PM
Looking good.

First off, the Orca is swiming a little fast.

Secondly, the fins on either side don't move. These, in addition to the tail, are the rudders as it were. They'd move in regards to the directions the whale would be going.

Finally, some entourage around the whale in the scene would help the feeling.

It this supposed to be open ocean or a tank?

griffin44
01-16-2004, 05:20 PM
Hey that's pretty good. I too used a whale as my first sort of animation character (you can check it on my site as I have some shots of the character rig too). But I agree with above: it is swimming a little fast, there should be some secondary movement in the pec fins and even the flukes. Since it's just a test I'll let you get away with the bright, tank like environment. Very cool though.

Skyraider3D
01-16-2004, 07:44 PM
The orca appears to be swimming a bit too fast indeed, but not that much. These creatures have magnificent power and can swim amazingly fast. In the animation it all seems a bit too graceful. If you can somehow give the impression of water moving it would be more convincing I think.
Having said that, the movement itself is very good. You got the 'hesitation' effect right when the animal moves up. I think if you slow it down and add a little bit of camera movement and wirly water effects to it, the end result could be very realistic! :thumbsup: