PDA

View Full Version : Character: Anakin - Pod Racer outfit

feeesh
01-15-2004, 06:40 PM
Hi everyone,

Just found this forum via a post on Highend3D and Iím floored at how great this place is. Iím currently learning Maya and have aspirations to become a character modeler for Games. Iím completely self-taught so far. Iíve been doing the online tutorials and also the Gnomon Polygon Modeling DVDs. Only started using the software less than a month ago and this is my first model (other than the step-by-step tutorial models).

I know itís a bit clichť to be doing a model from Star Wars like everyone and their brother has already done, heheh, but I always liked the look of Anakinís Podracing helmet and had a nice front and side sketch of it from my Art of Star Wars book to use as Image Planes for a guide. It also had a good combo of organic as well is inorganic elements that werenít too extraordinarily difficult but would be good practice for a first model. So Iím basically learning the tools as I go and am eventually going to model the entire body and skin it. Iíll post my progression throughout (albeit slowly since Iím learning as I go, so no speed modeling this time around, heheh).

SO I welcome any input you all might have. Donít be afraid to be blunt. Iím here to learn and donít want to get off on tangents creating bad habits.

The details are, this is a model that would supposedly be used for a game, so it will be relatively low-poly. Preferably around 2250 Triangles in the end. That seems to be a good secondary level of detail for a lot of games being released nowadays for actual gameplay, but not quite the level of detail for cinematics. I also have included shots of the geometry smoothed, even though I wonít be doing that in the end. Mostly just to see how it all rounds out, helps me pick out little flaws in my low-poly geometry that I might not have noticed otherwise.

Ok, enough ranting, onto the artwork.

-Jason

http://www.jason-hall.net/3D/anakin_WIP_1.jpg