PDA

View Full Version : Why do you use LightWave

kurv
01-14-2004, 08:07 PM
Just wanted to ask the folks on CGTalk why they use LightWave…

I personally use LightWave because it is truly a dream of mine to work in this industry…do you think it is a coincidence we have 10 books on LightWave coming out :).

I remember when I first talked to Deuce Bennett in person. He was making a commercial with the Toaster and was using LightWave as well. He went through some things and made it look so easy, I was hooked…

I started playing with LightWave, got THE first copy of Essential LightWave we published and went to work…

So I use LightWave because I feel it has the best modeler on the market and that’s what I want to do day in day out….model.

Anyone else…

Claymation
01-14-2004, 08:23 PM
With me it was features, price, and a whole lota luck.

At the time I had just jumped out of Animation master and got nendo and was having fun modeling in it and realized I really needed a full 3d application. So I started looking at the various software packages from features to price while trying to figure out how to save up money. I narrowed down my choices to max and lightwave. After comparing them I liked that lightwave used text and not obsure buttons. I then got my tax return just as lightave 6.5 had a deal with aura included. The rest is history.

Althougth I later learned max I never regretted going with Lightwave. It is a pleasure to work with.

Jay

Pi3141
01-14-2004, 08:25 PM
I was originally drawn to LW for the modeler, however over time the program has become very very comfortable to use, and I can get models done very very quickly with minimal effort.

Another big draw for me to the application is the userbase, community and support. It's phenomenal, usually.

Rei Ayanami
01-14-2004, 08:30 PM
It was the first real peice of software i ever got (infini d anyone)