PDA

View Full Version : Grab viewport => video

darky7
01-12-2004, 09:32 AM
does someone know how to make a script to grab the viewport in order to make a video ?
thanx.

and if simply tiz possible or not ...
thanx.

Cthulhu
01-15-2004, 05:37 PM
you can try to set up a timer event and then grab the viewport with the gw.getViewPortDib() command and save it incremental, then you'll get a list of bmp images which can be converted to an avi...

Cthulhu
01-15-2004, 10:32 PM
i just found the idea pretty useful to have a script that grabs the viewport, so i wrote a little one. it lets you set a time interval to grab the view (like every second or every 1/10ths), and the filename and filetype for saving, then just hit the grab button! i hope this will be useful for you...

darky7
01-16-2004, 02:59 PM
thank U very much !!!!

I'll try this !!

very nice of U to have written the script, cos I'm not very good at scripting.

thanx a lot.

:)

Cthulhu
01-16-2004, 04:10 PM
just added an option to the script to also grab the viewport on every change the user does to it, so the final video will be way smoother..

darky7
01-18-2004, 06:49 PM
yes it works !!! :applause:
very nice

but, is it possible to grab the viewport when you have an animation ? I meant, instead of rendering it, is it possible to grab it in the viewport and make an avi or image sequence at 25i/s ?

I found a script but it doesn't work ...
can U tell me why please ?
thank you

Cthulhu
01-18-2004, 10:16 PM
so why don't use the make preview function in max? i think it does exactly what you want. but its also possible with the script, just set the speed to 10 and turn on grab on each change and step through the animation frame by frame, could be a bit painful on longer animations though..

darky7
01-19-2004, 07:21 AM
:blush:

thanx again !!!

I didn't know that 'make preview existed'

re:blush:

suck
01-21-2004, 12:50 AM