PDA

View Full Version : Making Silver ....

Chaosphere
01-11-2004, 02:46 AM
Hey I need to make a piece of jewlery... its silver...whats the best method to do that, i am using max 6.... what shaders, color, etc.... I am thinking i should use mental ray, but I need some suggestions.... please thanks

Impactor Return
01-12-2004, 03:45 PM
max has silver, chrome (black and white) in the material libarys, they are pretty good, so id use them.

U could embark on a HDRI route, but u will need a nifty enviroment.

Personaly i like final renders blurry raytracing...

Stroker
01-12-2004, 04:57 PM
I've gotten good results with a Shellac material.

1. Standard material with a very blurry reflection map.
2. Raytraced with some reflection.

EricChadwick
01-12-2004, 06:02 PM
Here's a tutorial for jewelry that might help...
http://kezan.onnovanbraam.com/tutorials.htm

robin3d
02-12-2004, 10:37 PM
Hi . I read your turorials and have learned a lot. I'm kinda new to 3d and texturing is one of my favorite parts.
Iv' learned how to map all of these in maya and it feels like i can handle that part now. However im having a 10week projekt att school where i'm supposed to do a short 3d film and i thought i would paint all texturemaps needed however one qustion is still bugging me. How does all these maps actually look to work right. I know its the grey walues but how much to create a certain effect?
Would like to see a character with ass many of these texture maps mapped as possible and all the maps named so i could studdy exactly how you or anyone drew to get the diffrent effects
This would conclude all your tutorials. it's like the missing part of a puzzle.

One more question, did i get it all wrong when i read something like the diffusion map only working correctly in use of global illumination?