PDA

View Full Version : My new Flash Site (Inprogress)

mindstate7
01-09-2004, 03:37 PM
www.digital-gigolo.com (http://www.digital-gigolo.com)

Hey all,

I have just finished my new site. I am a novice in flash, so it is pretty basic but I would like to get some opinions on the overall feel of the site. There are actually two parts to teh site. One called "Select Original" which is a new installment and I am just posting new work there. The other is my old portfolio site which has more imagery and older versions of woork.

I think it is not as developed as it could be, so please, any crits would be very much appreciated.

Thanks a ton in advance

jrwells
01-13-2004, 07:57 AM
I think that the site looks really cool, all the illistrations and graphics are top shelf. I only had a few minutes to explore around the site, but at first I found it a little difficult to navigate, which might have been your intention, I know that a lot of flash designers try to engage the viewer by foring them to move the mouse around the screen and discover the buttons for themselves, but if that was not your intention I would work on that. Personally I don't like this tactic, it bothers me and I don't like to spend much time viewing a site that makes it a puzzle to move around, but that is just a personal opinion.

The only major complaint that I have is that after a few minutes of navigating I had a whole series of boxes to close to get back to cgtalk. I tend to follow the phillosiphy that flash is supposed to be interactive and dynamic, and when you set it to open an extra box outside the original movie, it inturrupts the fluidity of flash and I personally feel that is a little tacky, or you could not resolve a transition from one page to the next without opening a new box.

dez
01-13-2004, 09:03 AM
hey mindstate7,