PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Photoshop/Image Ready Advice

Signal2Noise
01-08-2004, 06:18 PM
Hey PS Gurus,

Need some help here in the world of Photoshop and/or Image Ready. I quickly slapped a logo together for my new (and first)website I'm designing. But I'm new to using PS (formerly used Paint Shop Pro). I'm trying to get a text layer to be crystal clear when read on the main logo. I was up all night toying with it and this is the best result I've been able to achieve thus far. I've got some books and mags to learn the stuff in addition to the manuals but everything basically says to "add text" but doesn't really expand on how to make it look good as well. At least from what I've been able to find so far.

The text should read "www dot" and "dot com" on the upper left and lower right respectively on the logo. I was originally going to cut it through the logo (i.e. boolean) but it wasn't legible so I decided to print it on. Link provided below so you can view and advise. I'm thinking of widening the 'p' & 'd' tails to accommodate a larger font size but only as a last resort.

rapidCG (http://www.rapidcg.com)

TIA.

Stroker
01-08-2004, 06:54 PM
Better font, like Silk Screen. Search for "pixel fonts" should get you there.

Make text a little bigger than horizontal stripe that it's over.
Fill with white and give black 1px stroke on the outside.
Or fill with blue and white stroke.
Try something like that.

chach
01-09-2004, 02:24 PM
you could use pixel fonts also.

surrealgfx
01-09-2004, 05:35 PM
Maybe this is what your looking for i am unsure but let me know if this helps. its pretty simple i can walk you through the steps.

Signal2Noise
01-09-2004, 06:38 PM
Stroker: