PDA

View Full Version : edgeloop

AroundTheFur
06-21-2002, 08:44 PM
ok so im new to character modeling, and im tryin to get the jist of the edgeloop deal. i whipped this model out in an hour just to see if i could pull it off, this is the third in a series, just wonderin if someone could tell me what im doin right, and of course what im doin wrong. thanks in advance :buttrock:

AroundTheFur
06-21-2002, 09:22 PM
ps, before you start knockin on the model for not being proportional, i know this, its not a human head, just tryin to get the edgeloop concept. hehe

LFShade
06-21-2002, 09:53 PM
What are we seeing here? Is it the smoothed or unsmoothed version? If it's the smoothed version, we'll need you to post the unsmoothed version in order to properly help you.

If this is in fact the unsmoothed version, then for starters I'd say you need to work with much less detail! While it's not unusual to see unsmoothed finished work with this density of polygons, those models also usually have a considerable amount more detail than yours.

As to the edgeloop layout, you've got something good going on around the eyes...but the rest is questionable. The mouth could use more concentric loops, and there is too much of a grid-like layout on the cheeks. It would be good to see more edges that follow the natural contours of the face. Take a look at the following post from the WIP forum for an idea of what I'm talking about:

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=8965