PDA

View Full Version : Meltdown?? Beep code advice...

blendertrout
01-07-2004, 09:14 PM
Well, I have a box that is acting totaly dead... No VGA signal and no BIOS booting.

I have Phoenix BIOS and the board is an Abit NF7-M.
(onboard G-force4, onboard sound, 2 sticks 512 PC 3200)

All I get is the BIOS beep code which is 1 long beep a verry short pause 3 quick beeps a 2 second pause and then a unending series of high toned beeps in rapid sucession. I ( can't find any info on this last high-toned series of beeps...) Maybe doesn't mater if I just interperate the first set.. (teh 1 long and 3 short it seems I just have to take this board to the curb anyway) But I'm hoping it is VGA error of some kind and fixable. Any help out there? I really don't want to have to replace this Motherboard this computer is my life and and as an art student I have no money to replace it. :hmm:

schmu_20mol
01-07-2004, 09:23 PM
normally you can find those beep-codes pretty much at the end of your manual of the mobo (you didn't throw it away - did you?) ...as far as i'm concerned there's no standard for those beep-codes so it's up to the manual to show the magic

blendertrout
01-07-2004, 09:32 PM
hmmm, No beep code stuff in the Manual... but suposedly the individual manufacturers maintain individual standards... Don't they?

GregHess
01-07-2004, 10:10 PM
3) Check all the cables in the system. Check them again. Check them a third time. Inspect for nicks/cuts/scrapes of electrical cords, especially IDE/SCSI/SATA cords. A .1 mm nick can render drive errors. Make sure all cables are SEATED properly.

4) Check that all cards are seated properly.

5) Check the ram seating. Are you using dimm's 0/1 first? Or did you put the ram in reverse order?

6) Make sure the processor heatsinks are firmly attached, and that there are no air gaps between the sink and the core of the cpu. Make sure that thermal paste/grease/tape was used between the two mediums. (I recommend artic silver V)