PDA

View Full Version : Looking for resources/help on learning texturing.

Greenlief
06-21-2002, 04:08 PM
Hey everybody! I've been lurking on cgtalk for a few weeks, finally decided to sign up. First off, just want to say that you are all very talented! Some of the stuff you guys post here is unbelievable!

OK, I've been using max for a few months now, and I have got the modelling aspect down. My problem is with texturing. I know how to use the basic tools, and I have read through Leighs tutorials (a bit too advanced), just wondering if you guys knew of any good tutorials or references to help me figure it all out? I'm confused about UV maps, and the proper use of bump maps, etc. My images so far seem too flawless and plastic, and I was just wondering what resources you people used to master the art of texturing.

leigh
06-21-2002, 04:18 PM
Hey there...
For starters, check this out:
Realistic Texturing (http://www.rethinkfx.com/tutorials/texture.htm)

Other than doing tutorials though, why not post some of your stuff here? That way people can directly address which aspects you need to work on :)

Greenlief
06-21-2002, 04:30 PM
Thanks for the link, I will read that over. I will attempt to post a pair of images that are giving me trouble. They are from a little animated short that I've just started working on. I'm not going for a photorealistic approach, considering it stars gumby ;)

Greenlief
06-21-2002, 04:31 PM
And this is his bedroom.

leigh
06-21-2002, 04:43 PM
Firstly, I didn't notice it before - AWESOME SIGNATURE!!! The Evil Dead films rule!! :buttrock:

Ok, your renders....
I think the main problem is that they are too sterile. I know you aren't going for photorealism, but your renders still need some meaasure of believability in order to capture your audience - people need something that they can relate to.