PDA

View Full Version : Ati Radeon 9800 Pro vs Nvidia QuadroFX 500

Ryan8311
01-06-2004, 08:08 PM
Ok, I'm just about done putting together my new machine, but I still haven't decided which graphics card to go with. I've looked at benchmark tests on several different sites, but I still haven't found a direct comparison between the Radeon 9800 Pro and QuadroFX 500. I need something that works well with Maya 5.0, but also is great with video editing and compositing. I'm a student, so I'm going to be doing a little bit of everything, but the main packages I plan on using are Maya 5.0, After Effects, and Photoshop. I'd like to run dual 17" CRT's in the near future as well if that makes any difference. Newegg.com sells both models for $299, so which card will perform best for my needs?

Any insight that you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

siftingsand
01-06-2004, 08:24 PM
from what i have read the quadro FX500 is about 25% slower than quadro4-980. Ati9800 wont work well with maya.. it will run but with bugs. Paint effects basically doesnt work at all with a 9800 pro. You can soft mod the 9800 card to use Firegl drivers.. this fixes the paint effects problem and some viewport problems. I think the quadrofx500 would be your best bet.

Ryan8311
01-06-2004, 09:10 PM
WOW, I had no idea that the Radeon 9800 Pro had problems with Maya like that. Well maybe I should ask this instead: for a student on a budget, what graphics card do you guys recommend for use with the software packages I mentioned above? I'm hoping to spend no more than $300, but I suppose I can go as high as $500 if the $2-300 Ati cards are going to have serious performance issues with Maya.

:shrug:

Dinodiegus
11-22-2004, 09:15 PM
it's up to you, if you want headaches or not, in my opinion life is too short to waste time on bad video cards, i bought an ati and its the last time, i returned all my ati cards for complaints on graphic display bugs in 2d or 3d apps.