PDA

View Full Version : What's the future ?

Galo
01-06-2004, 01:14 AM
Guys,

i've been browsing around here for a while now and im asking myself, what's up with the C++ and C# war ?

It seems like people who are into C++ don't like C# cause it is captured in a framework called dot net and people think you can only make webapplications with it and portable applications, or am i wrong.

well give me a awnser to this then.
If i was a young developer, just starting out, shoud i pick C++ or C# to learn graphic programming ?
And please look @ the future, is C# gonna be a replacement for C++ ?

Do they both have directX and OGL ?
Are they Both OOP ?
Do they support pointers both ?
Are you just as free (as an programmer) in C# then in C++ ?

I mean isn't c++ the base language of all computers, how can C# replace that, was C# written in C++ cause C# was not there yet so it has to be.....

And i read that C# is much less complicated and th code seems to be verry clean.

just currious ,
Galo :wavey:

playmesumch00ns
01-06-2004, 08:47 AM
No No No NO NO. I absolutely refuse to learn a new programming language as a "replacement" for my beloved c++.

Especially one designed and pushed by Microsoft. Eeuugh. You have to actually know how to use Java and C++ properly before you can start redesigning them (not that that's ever stopped them).

[ zealot mode off ]

On a serious note, yes things like C# could well be the future. You can guarantee that whatever is the future, it won't be designed by microsoft.

Point is for the forseeable future, for graphics programming C++ is king.

Once you've learnt C++, migrating to whatever its replacement might be in the distant future will be a piece of piss.

As to all your supplementary questions, I think they might be better answered by looking at one of the myriad sites that deals with c# specifically, but as far as I'm aware, the answer to all of them is yes.

StefanDidak
01-06-2004, 11:57 AM
Originally posted by Galo