PDA

View Full Version : Modeling program: opengl or directx

iC4
01-05-2004, 10:02 PM
Hey there, since I will have a lot of free time after this month I thought I could teach myself a bit of graphics programming.

First I thought I should write my own little 3d game...but after some research I think it's pretty useless since it's too much work and the results won't be that impressive......

So I decided that I will TRY to make my own little modeller. Now my question is what's better suited for this task, opengl or directx?

I know that opengl could be used on any platform...also the code should be cleaner...but isn't directx more "up to date"?

I know there will be alot of math...but since I'm studying software engineering we have analysis, linear algebra, discrete maths...and so on....so I hope this won't be the main problem

Per-Anders
01-05-2004, 10:56 PM
opengl is portable, it's also arguably faster than directx. however it's certainly no where near as pretty. i would recommend using opengl if only for speed and compatability in a modeler.

playmesumch00ns
01-06-2004, 09:49 AM
yup, use opengl. The 1.5 spec includes all of the stuff you're going to need for writing a modeller. Plus it's a hell of a lot quicker to get code up and running with opengl.

Plus opengl smells better

Galo
01-07-2004, 04:43 PM
shouldn't you first focus on the core of the program which has nothiung to do with OPENGL ? cause my modeller has software mode as well.....

iC4
01-07-2004, 05:57 PM
hm, I don't plan to include a software mode.....do you think it's neccessary?

and at the moment I'm just doing some research, and I think it's important if I know this in the beginning.

OC-NightHawk
01-17-2004, 06:42 PM