PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone

RobinOberg
06-20-2002, 11:28 PM
Hi! Im Robin Öberg (hence my nick)

I like fooling around with 3d graphics.
I have some experience with Rhino and now im teaching myself lightwave.

as i think i look in this forum quite a bit recently i thought i would introduce myself to you all.

my work is nothing to be showing, as it doesnt show what i can do at this point (but if you really want i have the sanem nick at renderosity.com)

Psyhke
06-21-2002, 01:06 AM
Hello--

I've wondered about Rhino, from time to time. I'm fairly new to 3D programs, so LW has been plenty to keep me busy. I'd be interested in hearing your thoughts on LW's modeling compared to Rhino.

Right now, it seems like LW modeling will be able to to do anything I can imagine, but who knows, in a few years maybe I'll be able to imagine it.

:)

Dis
06-21-2002, 01:51 AM
Welcome ! :beer:

RobinOberg
06-21-2002, 12:24 PM
Rhino is a nurbs modeller, and lightwave is mainly a polygons modeller.
Rhino is easier but gives you less control over individual poly's.
Some things takes longer to do in rhino (like simple bevel operations in lightwave) but often there are other ways to do the same object.

it would probably be a good idea to combine them both, but thats nothing i would take the time to do(lightwave is more then enough :))

rhino hasnt been in the scene as long as lightwave. its mostly designers that use it, making vacuum cleaners and shoes and stuff. that thing that the hobgoblin in spiderman flies around with, that was made in rhino.

rhino is also great at not merging but combining polygonic shapes, like the nose of a face that seems to be the same shape really isnt. that way you can save polys. but its hard to animate...

rhino is cheap as it is only a modeler, but if add the price of a renderer it is almost at the same price as lightwave. add the fact that you cant animate from rhino or its rendercompanion flamingo...

CIM
06-21-2002, 12:50 PM
Hey hey. :wavey: