PDA

View Full Version : LP Character progress: Cutter from Elfquest

AndersEgleus
12-25-2003, 01:44 PM
Hi all.

Thought I'd do one of those progress threads on a low poly character I've started working on.

This is Cutter, the main character from the ElfQuest illustrated novels series.

I'm kind of new to the whole game art business, and I'm doing it mostly for practice. I'm also new to Maya, so I'm progressing quite slowly to say the least.

At the moment I'm mostly trying to figure out a good topology, so some of the body proportions may be off. I'm aiming for 2500 polys in the end, but I intend to make LODed versions too. Right now I'm at 1266 tris as you can see, and in the final version he will have hair, teeth, clothes (fur vest, trousers and shoes) accessories and a dagger or short sword. On the other hand, parts of the body will be covered, so it's give some, take some on the poly count. I'm still guessing I'll have to optimize a lot in the end to meet the budget.

If you want to compare with the real thing, here's the official Elfquest site (http://www.elfquest.com/gallery.html).

Here are the current screenshots:
http://www.stannogen.org/ElfQuest/Cutter6.jpg

I'd really appriciate crits and tips as I progress, like I said I'm quite new to low poly character creation.

spm
12-25-2003, 01:59 PM
in my mind you have way too many tri-fans all over the model so far. you should strive for a more /\/\/\/ kind of look instead of the many X you have atm. read more here:

http://www.sgi.com/software/opengl/advanced98/notes/node16.html

AndersEgleus
12-25-2003, 09:17 PM
Oh no, not more rules! :)

Seriously though, that's exactly the kind of crits I'm looking for, cheers. Like I said, I don't know very much about the rules of low poly.