PDA

View Full Version : Which first? Tcl or C++ ???

slooper
12-24-2003, 09:15 AM
I am wanting to learn a programming language and can't decide what would be most beneficial to a career in high end CGI. On one hand, if I learn C++ it will help me with Renderman, Mental Ray, 3dsmax SDK, etc. On the other hand, Tcl will allow me to use MToR SOOOO much better, and maybe other programs such as PiranhaHD... I also am primarily focusing on linux apps such as Shake, Maya, Houdini, Piranha, and Renderman. I know this is very vague, but I could use some advice from other TDs out there or those of you who have gone this route already. My ultimate goal is to be either a Technical Director, shader writer, procedural fx animator, or pipeline engineer. And yes, I do hate sleep.

Thanks!

Sean Looper

Hugh
12-24-2003, 11:11 AM
Well, as a pipeline engineer myself, I mostly work in C++ - at the moment, most of the work I'm doing is plugins for Shake and Maya... I've done a couple of tiny Tcl scripts, but that's about it (don't really know Tcl, though)

Personally, I think C++ is a very solid language to know - it will help you all over the place, and it certainly won't hurt to know it.

Another language that I'm learning at the moment is Python - I've not used it before, but I suspect that it will become my scripting language of choice in not too long - it seems great because it can be used for both short scripts and quite complex programs....

Anyway, going back to what you wanted to do:

Technical Director: Well, it really depends on what kind - if you're working in Maya, though, there'll be a lot of MEL to do.

Shader Writer: I really don't know enough of what this involves to be able to make suggestions here...