PDA

View Full Version : Mel Pivot Question

mediumRare
12-24-2003, 02:30 AM
Hi there,
Im an artist learning MEL (slowly)!

I want to take a group node and snap its pivot to a joint.
Im having trouble doing this with the move command because the joint resides in its own space and I cant plug in wolrd space co-ordinates of the joint into the move tool since I dont know how to query those co-ordinates...

BASICALLY, how do you find out in MEL what the wold space co-ordinates of a joint are?

Thanks in advance

galactor
12-24-2003, 01:30 PM
If the bone is selected, and you run this Command

xform -ws -q -t

It will return the right translation.

:: Galactor ::

macaroniKazoo
12-25-2003, 11:21 PM
just FYI, the better way to find out the world space position of an object, is by using:

xform -q -ws -rp $obj;

which finds the world space position of the rotation pivot of an object, instead of the world space translation. for a joint, this doesn't matter, but for any other object, if the translation has been frozen away from the origin, then the xform -q -ws -t command will give you wrong information.

but for joints, what galactor said will work just fine. :)

kiaran
03-12-2004, 07:06 AM
Thanks a bunch guys! I was racking my brain against that one for some time. I'm just starting to write some serious mel scripts and I've discovered I'm not quite the mel expert I thought I was when it comes to anything other than UI building!

I do have a quick question though. Why is it that when I query the position of a joint like this...

joint -q -p leftKneeJoint;

...I don't get the proper position. Seems offset or something. Anyone know why this is?

macaroniKazoo
03-12-2004, 07:13 AM
do you want the world space position of the joint? the joint -q -p command gives world space coords of the joint. you're possibly after local space info?

if so, try using: joint -q -p -r leftKneeJoint;

kiaran
03-12-2004, 08:11 AM