PDA

View Full Version : Why doesn't this work?

FatAssasin
12-24-2003, 01:09 AM
I'm brand new to MaxScript and I'm trying to create a simple little utility to advance or move back a certain number of frames in an animation. Here's the script...

utility vcrpanel "VCR Panel"
(
spinner frames "Frames" range:[0,100,1.0]
button forward "Advance Frames"
button rewind "Rewind Frames"
on forward pressed do
(
sliderTime += frames
)
on rewind pressed do
(
sliderTime -= frames
)
)

The way understand it, the variable "frames" should get the number from the spinner and then be used in the "sliderTime" command. If I put an actual number in the argument it works, but when I use the variable it gives me an error saying "Incompatible types: 40f, and SpinnerControl:frames".

What am I doing wrong? :hmm:

Baldrick
12-24-2003, 09:43 AM
You're almost there. You need to use frames.value to get the value property from the frames control and the moment you're trying to add/subtract a GUI control from the sliderTime (which, of course, doesn't make sense and gives you the error you're getting).

So you're script should read

utility vcrpanel "VCR Panel"
(
spinner frames "Frames" range:[0,100,1.0]
button forward "Advance Frames"
button rewind "Rewind Frames"
on forward pressed do
(
sliderTime += frames.value
)
on rewind pressed do
(
sliderTime -= frames.value
)
)

FatAssasin
12-26-2003, 03:50 PM
Thank a bunch. It works like a charm! So would I have to use the ".value" at the end of any numeric variable to get the number from it?

I still have a long way to go with this, but I appreciate the help.

magicm
12-26-2003, 07:40 PM
Originally posted by FatAssasin
So would I have to use the ".value" at the end of any numeric variable to get the number from it?