PDA

View Full Version : Little sister - Bioshock , Michael Blackshore (3D)

Blackshore
05-28-2013, 04:37 AM
http://features.cgsociety.org/newgallerycrits/g35/328435/328435_1369715868_medium.jpg (http://features.cgsociety.org/newgallerycrits/g35/328435/328435_1369715868_large.jpg)

Title: Little sister - Bioshock
Name: Michael Blackshore
Software: Modo, Photoshop, ZBrush

I thought it would be cool to test out how the Little sisters in Bioshock 2 would look like if I pushed it a bit further!
This is my first attempt at using the SSS shader in modo!

The model itself was sculpted from 1 real reference and from the game. Combining them to, the character did not look generic as they looked in the game.

Tools:
Sculpt: Zbrush
Retopo, Paint, UV, Render: Modo

Thanks for taking the time to check it out!
If you have any questions, do not hesitate to ask!

Blackshore
05-28-2013, 05:22 AM
Here is a Live render test with HDRI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QXDAuj1At-k)

AJ
05-28-2013, 12:59 PM
I realise that you've posted this as a finished piece but I think there are quite a few things you could do to improve this. If not on this image, then maybe your next project :)

Even in a stylised character there are some unusual anatomy choices that I think could be improved with the benefit of comparing to some real life reference.

The top half of her skull looks very tall and cubic. It's hard to make out the ears but they definitely look small compared to the rest of her features and it also looks as though they are gradually forming from the side of her head rather than having a definitive shape of their own. This isn't helped by the sudden lack of hair around them.

The shape of the nostrils, the form of the lips and the shape/thickness of the eyelids are all things that I would advise comparing to reference. Taking the eyes for example, you can see a black gap on her left eye where the eyeball doesn't meet the lids.