PDA

View Full Version : random object distribution ?

afox
12-18-2003, 01:11 PM
I am really new to mel scripting and just started to learn it, but i guess that should not be too hard.

Ultimately I want to create a forest. My Plan is to make pictures of different trees and use them to texture simple planes.

So the mel script should distribute the planes randomly over an area that i define, for example the ground plane,
i should be able to define a minimum and maximum distance between the trees,
scale them randomly ( again within certain maximum and minimum values)

Because i will use different pictures of different trees the script should also use the planes randomly
(perhaps with a possibility of favouring some trees)

ok thats it for now

I really want to do that, but i simply donīt know where to start, perhaps someone can point me in the right direction, or tell me where to find a script that does something similar so i can learn from it, etc...
Of course if there is a better method of doing a forrest i am also eager to hear it.

thanks in advance

Marc

ajk48n
12-20-2003, 06:19 AM
Well, what you should probably look at is makeing a plane, then duplicating it. Then you get all the planes in an array, and move over each one to randomly distribute them.

Specific commands to look at are "duplicate", "ls -sl", "rand".

If you want more info on how to specifically do it, just ask.

afox
12-25-2003, 06:14 PM
Thanks ajk48n,

i know that i can duplicate the planes, but i wanted to avoid moving each one by hand, but thanks a lot for the mel commands, i will look into them.

PS: Sorry for the late reply, but i hadnīt access to an internet connection for a few days.

Marc

ajk48n
12-26-2003, 03:03 PM
You don't need to move the planes by hand. You can take the move, or xform command, and pass it random values for a place to move the planes to.

For instance,

if you had 10 planes in an array $planes, you could run

for ($p in $planes)
{