PDA

View Full Version : Loading a single selection


MikeRhone
12-17-2003, 05:17 PM
I feel like a fool for having to ask this but...

whats the most efficient way to get maya to make sure only one object is selected by a user?

Do i still use the:

string $sel[] = `ls -sl`;

command?

o.O

m

Jhavna
12-17-2003, 05:26 PM
Is this for when the user has selected the objects and called your script?

In that case you can do

string $selection[] = 'sl -ls';

and use $selection[0] to access the first selected object only.... Or copy that into another array if you need to work on array

MikeRhone
12-17-2003, 06:12 PM
I was hoping for a way to limit the selection to 1. If more than one object was selected I wanted to output an error like "Dummy, only select ONE object!"

m

galactor
12-17-2003, 06:41 PM
string $selection[] =`ls -sl -fl`;
if (size($selection)!= 1)
error ("Dummy, only select ONE object!");


if (size($selection)!= 1) This part says: If the amount of elements in $selection is not equal to 1, then print the error.
You should use the ERROR command for this, cause it makes sure the script cannot continue.

:: Galactor ::

MikeRhone
12-17-2003, 07:58 PM
perfect...thanks!

m

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 12:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.