PDA

View Full Version : Python plugins are not working in Mountain Lion


rui_mac
02-23-2013, 11:35 AM
All my python plugins are not working in Cinema4D release 13 or 14, running in Mac OS Mountain Lion.
This is a sample of the info I get in the console:

File "'Forkroot.pyp'", line 8, in <module>
ImportError: No module named os
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "'Info.pyp'", line 2, in <module>
ImportError: No module named os
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "'InfoTag.pyp'", line 2, in <module>
ImportError: No module named os
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "'SpeeDisplay.pyp'", line 2, in <module>
ImportError: No module named os
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "'Add to Vault.pyp'", line 11, in <module>
ImportError: No module named collections

All the imports return this error. What could be wrong?

Rui Batista

TBA3D
02-23-2013, 01:33 PM
Hi Rui,

that┤s what my Console on R14.034 / Mountain Lion said:

Best regards,
Thomas

rui_mac
02-23-2013, 01:35 PM
So, there is something wrong with my installation, then :-(
Thank you.

TBA3D
02-23-2013, 01:47 PM
By the way, another question:

Could you do this? :)

rui_mac
02-23-2013, 02:21 PM
It is already done :-)

TBA3D
02-23-2013, 02:47 PM
Very nice, well done :)

Waiting for update release.

Best regards,
Thomas

NiklasR
02-24-2013, 12:57 PM
Have you accidently removed the Lib folder in the Python distribution delivered with Cinema 4D?

rui_mac
03-08-2013, 04:54 PM
I found out what was happening.
I'm portuguese and I use portuguese folder names to organize my disk.
So, in my new computer I decided to keep all Apple apps inside the default Applications folder and create a new application folder for all other applications that I have.
But some portuguese words have diacritics. So, the Maxon folder was being placed inside a folder named Aplicaš§es
And that is why it was failing. It seems that Cinema4D can't be on a path that contains non-ASCII characters. Which is odd, since Maxon is from Germany and Germanic alphabets contain non-ASCII characters.
I already reported this to Maxon.
I changed the name of the folder and all is working fine now.

Rui Batista

Srek
03-08-2013, 05:25 PM
From my experience it will be Python that causes the problem with non ASCII characters in paths.

rui_mac
03-08-2013, 10:14 PM
Well, anyway, it should be fixed if possible.
There are just too many countries whose language uses non-ASCII characters and this error can occur any time.

Rui Batista

Srek
03-09-2013, 10:21 AM
Well, anyway, it should be fixed if possible.
There are just too many countries whose language uses non-ASCII characters and this error can occur any time.

Rui Batista
In case it is Python, Maxon is in no position to change this.
Cheers
Bj÷rn

rui_mac
03-09-2013, 01:14 PM
I thought so :-(
Darn!!

Rui Batista

littledevil
03-10-2013, 01:05 PM
unicode import statements are since 3.1 a design goal for python, but the feature never
made it into a final version yet. the reason is the multi os approach of python. a
special case are os system (sub)folders, which are imported correctly. this might also be
the reason why it was working for your old setup but not for the current. there are plenty
of workarrounds to import modules/packages containing unicode chars in their file or
pathname, but i think none of them are worth the effort, especially when you intend to
target the whole python standard lib.

CGTalk Moderation
03-10-2013, 01:05 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.