PDA

View Full Version : Buying a second PC for rendering

AdamKohout
01-29-2013, 07:09 PM
Hi,

Im looking for some advice regarding buying second PC for distributed rendering, Im completely new at this.

Im using VRay, I run it with 6core CPU and I need a second PC to use first one for work while rendering on the other one.
Ill be ordering low cost components, just enough to run AMD FX 8350 CPU (as a graphic card I will use my old Nvidia 9600GT, which is not rellevant for CPU rendering I guess).
My question is: Do I need to buy 16GB RAM for this rendering PC, or would be 2GB enough, as it would be just a slave for rendering? Im using 16GB RAM on my main PC.

And Im still not completely decided, whether it would be better to have two separated computers (in that case, Im buying that extra RAM), or if its more effective to use one main PC with another slave one just for rendering.

Ill appriciate your thoughts or advices, thanks!

AJ1
02-02-2013, 06:29 PM
Hey man,

Most MB from the MATX size on up have a small built in GPU, so you shouldn't need your 9600. Just plug in your power and an ethernet cable, and you should be able to access it through remote desktop just fine.

As far as RAM goes, it depends on what you do. Most small animation things seem to only use a few GB, but some huge arch vis renders with crazy ray depth and caustics can push 20GB.

If you've got the software licences already, its more cost effective on a small scale to buy fast single socket nodes.

-AJ

imashination
02-02-2013, 07:18 PM
2 gigs wont be enough, as an absolute minimum youll want 4 gigs, but 8/16 would be safer. Ram is cheap, dont skimp on it.

AdamKohout
02-02-2013, 07:40 PM
Many thanks for reply!

I allready bought my HW, the MB is Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, but for sure it would be better to buy a MB with integrated grahic, I should had wait for reply. I was afraid that distributed rendering could be using a bit of slave GPU as well.