PDA

View Full Version : Colleges and Internship Advice

Comar93
01-28-2013, 09:42 PM
Hello guys :)

So let me first introduce myself, I am an aspiring 3D artist from Serbia, I'm 19 years old and last year I finished highschool. Due to a lack of decent animation and art schools in my country and lack of finances to go to an international college, I haven't made it to a college last year. Instead, I poured my heart and soul into improving my 3D skills and creating my demo reel and I'm still working on the reel.

I've been reading lately about getting an internship because I have no work experience and I am uncertain of where to start even once I have a Demo Reel. In order to get an internship, most places require you to be a student at a college so I've been thinking of trying to find a good college which teaches 3D animation and art that I can either afford or get a scholarship at as an international student.

I really need advice on where to direct my actions next. I've looked up a couple of colleges: One is Sheridan College (Bachelor of Animation) which has a pretty affordable tuition compared to all of the other overpriced colleges but I don't really know anything about that college other than what the site says. Another one that seems really good is SCAD but the the only way I could ever afford to get into SCAD is by a scholarship, the full tuition one that you get by artistic achievement (I could apply with my demo reel). Really, considering my situation, my best bet would be apply for multiple scolarships and hope for the best. Please share any other colleges and opportunities that you might know.