PDA

View Full Version : Bachelor need

lunalf
01-28-2013, 05:29 AM
Hello everyone, my name is Luna, i am 21, and I am an undergraduated student of Industrial Design in Brazil, but I hate it so much. What I really like is VFX but we don't have good courses about it in Brazil. I intend to go to Canada in september to study VFX and give up my bachelor degree in industrial design, im afraid it COULD harm my jobs opportunities in canada/US because of the hb1 (US) visa requrements (bachelor degree or some kind of crazy mix of experience and college studies).
My question is: Is the bachelor degree necessary to get a job in US/Canada?

Fumetsu
01-28-2013, 05:54 PM
I am not sure about Canada, but to qualify for the H1B in the US, you need a bachelors degree or 3 years of experience for every year of the degree. Ie: 3 x 4 = 12 years of experience.

The alternatives to H1B (I don't know what they are specifically) are not that easy either and you must be one damn good candidate for the company to even bother with the lawyers etc.

mr Bob
01-28-2013, 08:44 PM
Hello everyone, my name is Luna, i am 21, and I am an undergraduated student of Industrial Design in Brazil, but I hate it so much. What I really like is VFX but we don't have good courses about it in Brazil. I intend to go to Canada in september to study VFX and give up my bachelor degree in industrial design, im afraid it COULD harm my jobs opportunities in canada/US because of the hb1 (US) visa requrements (bachelor degree or some kind of crazy mix of experience and college studies).
My question is: Is the bachelor degree necessary to get a job in US/Canada?

Even if you have a degree no firm is going to go to the trouble of hiring you unless you have experience. Vancouver right now has a massive pool of junior labour all wanting jobs

Please tell me why do you hate your degree course ? .

b

lunalf
01-28-2013, 10:29 PM