PDA

View Full Version : Workstation vs Gaming card dilemma


rubieken
01-26-2013, 11:18 AM
Hi guys, as you can probably tell.. i am new to this forum. As i am trying to build a decent rig for personal use, i have been researching like a boss trying to decide what spec to go for. This said, i am an absolute novice at anything technical relating to PC hardware. From reading a lot of post's on this forum i can tell that most, if not all, of you seem to have a good grasp of what your talking about. Although i am still undecided so i am posting this with hopes of getting some clarity on my current dilemma, as the title suggests.

So.. about me and what i will be using this system for. I am a hobbyist with aspirations of working within the animation industry as a modeler/animator. I am trained in lightwave but use maya, zbrush as well as dabbling with the likes of 3ds max, C4D, Vue and the likes. I will mostly be modeling, creating HD imagery and making animated shorts - nothing too extensive - so Adobe does come into the equation as well ( Ps, AE, Premiere Pro ) I also play a few games (day of defeat source and football manager primarily) but they aren't really important when it comes to my build.

Now, my budget is around the 2000 mark and i have a system that i have configured using Scan.co.uk but i am still undecided whether or not i should just go for this system or try save myself some money as my needs probably don't merit such high end parts. The system is as follows:
case - Fractal design define R4
CPU - i7 3930k hex core 3.2ghz 12mb cache. (option to overclock to 4.4ghz)
mobo - ASUS P9X79
CPU cooler - Phanteks performance CPU cooler
RAM - 32gb DDR3 1600mhz
GPU - 2gb Nvidia Quadro 4000
PSU - be quiet! straight power E9 CM 680w
SSD - intel 120gb 520 series
HDD - 2tb Seagate Barracuda
OS - Windows 8 64bit standard (maybe opt for windows 7)

The graphics card is where i am struggling to decide.. i cannot for the life of me decide whether to go for the quadro 4000.. or the firepro v7900.. even then.. do i need a pro card for my needs? or would i be better off sticking with a GTX 6XX card?

Please help..

mirkoj
01-30-2013, 01:12 PM
I've got radeon 7970 and it works like a charm. In Softimage amya and Max it eats geforce cards, also in cinebench it gets score of 99. while my old gtx 580 was reaching up to 50-55 something like that.
also in couple test in mailing list 7970 was beating quadro 5000 so go figure it out...

rubieken
01-30-2013, 01:46 PM
i've been reading up on the 7970 and it does seem to be a beast. i think that may be the way to go :) thanks man. any other suggestions or input from anyone?

Binaroid
01-30-2013, 11:45 PM
IMHO, don't go with Quadro card. Mainstream GeForce cards do equally well.
This (http://www.studio1productions.com/Articles/PremiereCS5.htm)is probably the best guide on GPU/CUDA I've stumbled upon.

Also, for your rig, if you plan to work with Adobe, you need more physical HDD's. Three is minimum you want and it really DOES speed the things up.
Here's why. (http://forums.adobe.com/thread/662972)

okmijun
02-02-2013, 09:06 AM
I've got radeon 7970 and it works like a charm. In Softimage amya and Max it eats geforce cards, also in cinebench it gets score of 99. while my old gtx 580 was reaching up to 50-55 something like that.
also in couple test in mailing list 7970 was beating quadro 5000 so go figure it out...

Pomaze Bog Mirko :) :) :)
....
I would like to hear more from you about 7970 and 3DSMAX?
Did you use it in D3D or nitous display driver mode?
compare with GTX580?
....
C4D is not usefull for MAX users, as it use OGL... right?
7970 <> Quadro?
that also would interesting :) :) :)

CGTalk Moderation
02-02-2013, 09:06 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.