PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 or 8?

Davinski
01-18-2013, 04:55 PM
Hello!
So I just ordered a new computer a few days ago; Intel 3930k, Nvidia GTX 670 and some other stuff. I've researched lots and I think the build is pretty solid, but this is not about the hardware. Rather the operating system.

I've used Mac and OS X for about as long as I can remember, only sporadically using Windows when I've had no other option. And that is where I am now, buying a PC and all. I guess Linux maybe could be an option, being more like OS X and all.. But I'm more familiar with Windows than Linux, and the former being more compatible with, well everything, I guess thats the less painful road to get everything up and running.

So! The question: Should I get Windows 7 or 8 (Professional version for both)? I'm a student so I can pick whatever for the price of 2-3 beers, so thats okay.

I will be mainly running Maya with Vray, and of course Adobe PS and AE - maybe some Nuke. I'm thinking that Windows 7 probably would be the wiser choice, since its been out for quite a while and everything should be compatible and run fine on it. Probably more stable as an operating system as a whole. But then again, Windows 8 is quite new and maybe brings something good to the table? Or is it just a pain right now, with software not supporting it yet and all those lovely Windows bugs?

I almost feel like I'm answering my own question here, but to keep it simple: Is there any reason at all to pick Windows 8 over 7?

Theta-Dot
01-27-2013, 02:19 AM
Windows 7 for now.
Win 8 isn't fully supported yet for most products -- you can probably make the change-over this time next year and by that time Microsoft will have tweaked/polished Win 8 further such that you get to skip any issues/bugs that are occurring on it now.
Just my opinion, though.

tswalk
01-27-2013, 06:50 AM