PDA

View Full Version : Media Design School Opinions

nettles
01-17-2013, 12:55 PM
So I have just finished my HSCs and have applied and was accepted into the Bachelor of creative technologies (game art) at Media Design School NZ. I am very excited about this result as I had been hoping to study there for a few years now. However now that the time has come I am having some concerns.
The first being that I am only 17 with no family in New Zealand. I was wondering what accommodation is like over there for someone in my situation and the extent of assistance I can expect from the Media Design school.
Also, what-with the high price of the course and the fact that I'm not exactly in a situation to go over and check it out first, I was wondering about the quality of the course itself. I mean, it looks great, but I was hoping to get the opinion of someone who has actually experienced it for themselves. This is really my main question. What will it be like, how much free time will I have, How well is it recognised by the industry, things like that.
Oh, and is it realistic for me to expect to be able to get a part time job?
I'd really appreciate any advice anyone can give me.

jorx
01-28-2013, 11:12 PM
hey Joseph!

I've got a coworker who like you has come from overseas (Shanghai I think)- studied the basic 3D animation course at MDS and has been working in NZ ever since. Here's what he had to say: