PDA

View Full Version : New Quadro K5000


adit1001
01-17-2013, 04:52 AM
Hi

I need an advice if possible. I want to buy a video card for viewport performance in 3d max especially, and now I have Quadro 4000. I am not very happy with the FPS this gives for high poly count. I have seen now that Nvidia launched Quadro k5000. Do you think is a significantly increase in viewport speed?
http://www.brightsideofnews.com/news...hics-card.aspx

I thaught on Quadro k5000 or a Quadro 6000, but I am not sure which is better

Thanks in advance

cgbeige
01-17-2013, 07:42 PM
I'll be reviewing the K5000 Mac edition and don't have any performance info on it yet but the K5000 is newer than the 6000, so it should perform better for viewport performance.

dmeyer
01-18-2013, 11:47 AM
Xbitlabs had a review up yesterday.

mustique
01-23-2013, 04:30 PM
The review on Xbitlabs sucks cause there's no real world test for CUDA/openCL apps like iray, vrayRT, Octane etc... Since the QuadroK5000 is useless in double precision calculations, I'm wondering what kind of performance you get in GPU rendering apps.

cgbeige
01-23-2013, 05:43 PM
GPU rendering is overrated anyway.

dmeyer
01-23-2013, 05:57 PM
I've got a windows k5000 here. Can run a bench or two if you got something specific.

mustique
01-28-2013, 10:33 AM
I'll be reviewing the K5000 Mac edition and don't have any performance info on it yet but the K5000 is newer than the 6000, so it should perform better for viewport performance.

Nice to hear that you'll be reviewing this card on mac. A one on one comparison with the Fermi based Quadro's (Quadro 4000) in Adobe mercury engine acceleration and Vray RT besides viewport power test would be very appreciated.

Given that even geforce cards on macs have decent enough drivers for those tasks I doubt anyone would spend 2000 bucks on a K5000, which has only 90 Gigaflop DP computing power listed in its specs.

The quadro K5000 has 3/6 times less DP computing power compared to Quadro 4000/6000 which is rather disappointing. Most people would rather invest in an Tesla K20 or in a yet to be anounced Quadro with same GK110 silicon.

tswalk
01-28-2013, 02:04 PM
double precision calculations in general 3D graphics is overkill.. there's no need for such precision in calculations.. if it were for real science like flying monkeys to the moon and back.. sure maybe.

the K5000 has twice the single precision performance as the 6000 (in specs).. but because it has a lower memory interface, i would not doubt it to be slower than the 6000 in real world tests... hard to say, we really haven't seen many of those yet. (or atleast i haven't)

mustique
01-28-2013, 05:55 PM
http://www.3dworldmag.com/2012/12/13/nvidia-quadro-k5000/

Hmm... Above is the link of one review I found. It gently says that the quadro K5000 is a looser for cuda accelerated rendering. But its only based on the bunkspeed rendertest.

cgbeige
01-28-2013, 08:44 PM
that's the worst review I've seen in a long time. Running only two synthetic benchmarks (Cinebench and specviewperf) and expecting to understand anything from that is pointless. brutal.

adit1001
02-19-2013, 08:05 PM
I've got a windows k5000 here. Can run a bench or two if you got something specific.

Would be nice if you can test scene found here, to see how is the viewport speed(FPS). You must open the scene in 3d max, and hit play. On the end the FPS gets higher, but is most important at the begining where all are visible

http://www.evermotion.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=72251


I have made also a test with my Quadro 4000, and I am not very happy with this

Thanks in advance

dmeyer
02-19-2013, 08:26 PM
Would be nice if you can test scene found here, to see how is the viewport speed(FPS). You must open the scene in 3d max, and hit play. On the end the FPS gets higher, but is most important at the begining where all are visible

http://www.evermotion.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=72251


I have made also a test with my Quadro 4000, and I am not very happy with this

Thanks in advance

No max here. Maya or Cinema4D. Might have a copy of Modo lying around somewhere too.

tswalk
02-19-2013, 11:19 PM
that's the worst review I've seen in a long time. Running only two synthetic benchmarks (Cinebench and specviewperf) and expecting to understand anything from that is pointless. brutal.

no doubt, and from what I have seen.. almost all of these "review" sites are posted nearly the day of release of the products or shortly thereafter (usually when they get ground clearance from Nvidia's NDA).

They don't even mention "what" driver version they tested... you would have been better off to give a monkey a pencil and ask it to write the review.

pathetic.

wapiti78
02-25-2013, 09:36 PM
Would be nice if you can test scene found here, to see how is the viewport speed(FPS). You must open the scene in 3d max, and hit play. On the end the FPS gets higher, but is most important at the begining where all are visible

http://www.evermotion.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=72251


I have made also a test with my Quadro 4000, and I am not very happy with this

Thanks in advance

Hi, i've made the test with this scene with Quadro K5000 on PC.
Time 1:03:37

adit1001
02-26-2013, 05:55 AM
Can you also tell me how many FPS do you have on the scene?

I post bellow my fps with my quadro 4000. With SMOOTH AND HIGHLIGHTS AND EDGE FACES I have 7 FPS at the begining and only at the end of the animation the FPS goes higher. I am interested on how many FPS do you have on the first 250 frames if possible.

Also I made another test with a cube with 100x100x100 subdivisions. After this I put meshmooth modifier until it reaches 3.8 mil polys. I attached the scene also

cube test (www.adriantiba.com/test - cub.rar)

If you can tell me how many fps do you have also with cube rotation would be great

MisterS
02-26-2013, 08:44 AM
TIME: 78sec
Video CARD: GTX580 3GB
Mobo: Gigabyte GA970A-UD3
CPU: AMD Phenom II 1090T 3.2GHz
SO: Win 7 pro x64
MAX Version: 3ds max Design 2013 x64
System Driver: Nitrous - nvidia driver 306.97
Screen Resolution: 2560x1600 + 1280x1024
RAM: 32GB

I'm assuming that was meant to be using 'Shaded' 'w edged faces' on?

I'd be pissed if my K5000 was only running just slightly faster than a gaming card.

*EDIT*
Updating driver to 314.07 gave the same timing as above using Nitrous

DirectX was faster @ 67secs

OpenGL was not happening!

The cube scene navigates between 40 & 350 FPS using shaded, no edges. With edges it grinds to a halt, like 0.3FPS.

wapiti78
02-26-2013, 08:35 PM
Can you also tell me how many FPS do you have on the scene?

I post bellow my fps with my quadro 4000. With SMOOTH AND HIGHLIGHTS AND EDGE FACES I have 7 FPS at the begining and only at the end of the animation the FPS goes higher. I am interested on how many FPS do you have on the first 250 frames if possible.

Also I made another test with a cube with 100x100x100 subdivisions. After this I put meshmooth modifier until it reaches 3.8 mil polys. I attached the scene also

cube test (http://www.adriantiba.com/test - cub.rar)

If you can tell me how many fps do you have also with cube rotation would be great

Hi,

Average fps in city (between frame 1 and frame 250) : 4 fps
https://www.dropbox.com/s/8notu0li12n5rhh/City_City.JPG

Average fps with cube : 21 fps
https://www.dropbox.com/s/8notu0li12n5rhh/City_City.JPG

adit1001
02-27-2013, 04:11 AM
Thanks for testing :)

okmijun
02-27-2013, 07:14 PM
Hi, i've made the test with this scene with Quadro K5000 on PC.
Time 1:03:37

63 secunds?
Which MAX and D3D or Nitrous?
Also, could you please, do some more test with K5000 and 3DS MAX?
thanx in advance :)

wapiti78
02-28-2013, 04:53 AM
63 secunds?
Which MAX and D3D or Nitrous?
Also, could you please, do some more test with K5000 and 3DS MAX?
thanx in advance :)

Yes, 63 secunds.
Autodesk 3DS Max 2013 Update 6.
Driver : Nitrous (Direct 3D 9.0 Quadro K5000)

Off course, i can do more test, tell me what you want i do.

okmijun
02-28-2013, 04:25 PM
CITY TEST>>> 73sec for GTX460 /MAX 2012-260.x series of drivers
hm?
DID AUTODESK MAYBE GIVE OFF OF 3DS MAX VIEWPORT SPEED?
GTX460 is just slightly slower than K5000
....
well, this is the game of drivers<>MAX version <> graphic card version.....nightmare!
please try this one, if it is not problem for you,

http://www.sendspace.com/file/xnft0m

1. unpack it in one single folder
2. go to MAXScipt>RUN Script, point to the scipt, and RUN IT
/but for the first time, it should not run, you ll got the error massage, but don worry, next time, and every others, it will run smoothly/

so, you will get the RESULTS like this, /RESULTS.TXT file is in the root folder of bench, actaually it ius already some results there, of mine GTX460 :P /

=================================================
Video Card: 460
Display Type:
File Name | FPS
=================================================
4viewports.MAX | 118.624
8direct.MAX | 472.813
8omni.MAX | 476.19
8spot.MAX | 461.894
blitting.MAX | 562.008
dualplanes.MAX | 522.876
geometry1.MAX | 429.799
geometry2.MAX | 404.313
multitex.MAX | 2.6264
rasterize.MAX | 352.734
textured1.MAX | 324.816
textured2.MAX | 154.679
textured3.MAX | 172.295
transpar.MAX | 203.583
wireframe1.MAX | 424.929
wireframe2.MAX | 404.858

Comp High: 299.076
Comp Low: 193.959

wapiti78
02-28-2013, 08:13 PM
Hi,

For your information :
Driver Nvidia : 310.90
Windows 8 Enterprise, 64 Bit

=================================================
Video Card: Quadro K5000
Display Type:
File Name | FPS
=================================================
4viewports.MAX | 81.367
8direct.MAX | 280.112
8omni.MAX | 282.087
8spot.MAX | 282.486
blitting.MAX | 372.717
dualplanes.MAX | 370.656
geometry1.MAX | 344.432
geometry2.MAX | 319.149
multitex.MAX | 0.885614
rasterize.MAX | 316.756
textured1.MAX | 229.428
textured2.MAX | 97.7517
textured3.MAX | 126.422
transpar.MAX | 153.941
wireframe1.MAX | 329.67
wireframe2.MAX | 328.228

Comp High: 212.634
Comp Low: 129.536

okmijun
03-01-2013, 10:52 AM
THANK YOU!
hm?
let's say that maybe Windows 8 is the main problem?
who knows...
This is nitrous?
did you try clean D3D driver?
please try that, maybe we could get better results?

okmijun
03-02-2013, 12:15 PM
Anyone with GeForce GTX660 and MAX 2012/12 for this test?
http://www.evermotion.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=72251

wapiti78
03-02-2013, 03:49 PM
THANK YOU!
hm?
let's say that maybe Windows 8 is the main problem?
who knows...
This is nitrous?
did you try clean D3D driver?
please try that, maybe we could get better results?

That was the result with Nitrous with the last Nvidia Drivers availaible.
Made a try with D3D Driver selected :

=================================================
Video Card: Quadro K5000
Display Type:
File Name | FPS
=================================================
4viewports.MAX | 41.2371
8direct.MAX | 378.072
8omni.MAX | 505.051
8spot.MAX | 506.329
blitting.MAX | 679.348
dualplanes.MAX | 712.166
geometry1.MAX | 610.998
geometry2.MAX | 572.519
multitex.MAX | 3.59609
rasterize.MAX | 511.771
textured1.MAX | 463.249
textured2.MAX | 224.593
textured3.MAX | 209.908
transpar.MAX | 296.56
wireframe1.MAX | 10.1906
wireframe2.MAX | 10.1126

Comp High: 169.195
Comp Low: 160.471

okmijun
03-03-2013, 01:51 PM
very strange results, to be honest...what's happening with Autodesk <> nVidia?
....
Also, MAXtreme drivers are a history...

SheepFactory
03-03-2013, 09:54 PM
GPU rendering is overrated anyway.


I thought you liked Octane Dave. What happened?

DuttyFoot
03-06-2013, 08:46 PM
nvidia just released the quadro k4000, k2000, k2000d and k600

http://www.anandtech.com/show/6813/nvidia-launches-quadro-k4000-k2000-k2000d-k600

ThE_JacO
03-06-2013, 09:09 PM
Looks like a generally very underwhelming line up for how late it is.
Better luck next gen, I guess.

DuttyFoot
03-08-2013, 06:59 PM
looks like the k6000 will be released soon

http://www.pcper.com/news/Graphics-Cards/NVIDIA-Allegedly-Launching-Quadro-K6000-GK110-GPU-Professionals

CGTalk Moderation
03-08-2013, 06:59 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.