PDA

View Full Version : How should I rig a fishing pole?

BadMange
12-11-2003, 03:54 AM
I'm doing an animation of a character casting off, getting a bite, reeling in and being pulled off a dock. What would be the best way to setup the rod, line and lure for this? I'm new to rigging and have no idea what my options are, if any. Would the rod be one joint, and the line have several joints?

Thanks,
Bad Mange

YankyBJeans
12-11-2003, 06:53 AM
This is what I might do, just right off the top of my head.

Pole: I think a nonlinear bend deformer would work perfectly for this. It would give you a nice bend in the pole shaft and you can animate its the deformers curvature.

Line: for the fishing line you might want to maybe use a long joint chain with an ik on it. Im not really too sure on that one. Perhaps a look at one of the dynamic rope/cable tutorials would help get the look right for you. If you did do the line with an ik chain you could point and orient constrain the lure to the end of it and it would move pretty realistically i think. Perhaps you could intigrate a stretch attribute into it too so that you can stretch the line as it gets cast.

Hope that at least gives you something to think about.

Yanky

BadMange
12-11-2003, 11:21 AM
Thanks for the reply, Yanky. A bend deformer on the pole sounds perfect, wish I'd thought of it! I'll try an IK on the line/lure and see how it goes.

-Bad Mange

john_homer
12-11-2003, 06:24 PM
its early, and like Yanky, just off the top of my head....

the rod:
I would use a 2 joint IK chain for the rod, that way you can have joint 2 shorter than joint 1 giving the rod more bend at the tip end... a bend defirmer will look like.. well a bend derfomer...

the lure:
you could either just animate the lure (probably easier, dynamics would be hard to control), or make it a rigid body and attach it to the tip with a spring constraint.
(or do both and blend between them, when you need the control)
the line: