PDA

View Full Version : Help building UI using UI file

KHing
01-16-2013, 07:52 AM
Hi, I am new to scripting and I am trying to build a tool to facilitate the production of a small project coming up.

The tool is as simple as setting up the folders with a specific folder structure to a standard path where all the artists can work together, and yet with proper referencing, etc.

The problem is that some of our artist work on pc, and some on mac. I have set up drive mapping and symbolic links on the machines, so they share the same path on either pc or mac.
etc, "T:/" on win and "/Users/Shared/" on mac

When I build the ui with qt creator, I am able to give a default value to my textField, where the artist can specify the path to save their files, whether to "T:/" or "Users/Shared/". Now the problem is whether I can set the default value of the textField based on the os the artists are working on?

For example, when artist on mac fires up the script the textField will show "/Users/Shared" and when the artist on win will see "T:/"?

I know this can be done with with an if statement querying the os version if I build the UI with mel. However is this possible if i am using a .ui file for my tool?

Thanks a bunch in advance. :thumbsup:

djx
01-16-2013, 12:48 PM
Since I'm probably not the best one to explain the exact steps, let me just start the ball rolling by assuring you that it is certainly possible to do what you want.