PDA

View Full Version : Tree Krunch Node 4 Maya

DaKrunch
12-10-2003, 11:00 PM
Hi there!
These days i have worked a bit on a node on maya... it should take a few parameters and returns a... poligonal mesh of a tree...!

here are some shots... :wip:

looking for some ideas to make it stronger (keeping it as a node though.. don't really want to create a full plugin)

http://membres.lycos.fr/dakrunch/Images/Shots/treekrunch01.jpg

any help?
cya!

Wes_Brown
12-10-2003, 11:18 PM
I am not a programmer but on the asthetic side I would love to see a way to get more curvature out of the segmants. I supose this just means you would have to subdivide the mesh more to get the curve. I am a big fan of procedural plant creation I just wish the end results didn't have so many straight lines. I will say however, that it is looking really nice so far ! good job!

Hugh
12-11-2003, 12:14 AM
You use L-Systems for that?

I know the theory, but have never put it into practise myself...

DaKrunch
12-11-2003, 09:05 AM
it's not L-System fractal.
I used it at first but it didn't turn out realistic enough

as for the straight lines you're right but it's not just a matter of subdivisions :( branch generation is not curve-based...
anyway thanks a lot i'll look 4 a way out to make it look better

Wes_Brown
12-11-2003, 03:36 PM
i have always benn amazed at procedural plant creation. Houdini can do some amazing things with thet type of work but I'm not a user yet. (I always have these grand visions of making all these vines grow and take over buildings and what not...makes for some really cool animation I think.) Does your node animate?

DaKrunch
12-11-2003, 04:20 PM
sure!
as every node in maya, its attributes (age etc...) can be connected to any other attributes, and are keyable!

before christmas i wanted to make a funny procedural animation with a christmas tree ;)

ufa
12-13-2003, 01:47 PM
Hi!

I am also scripting on a tree structure, I am working with MAX script though.