PDA

View Full Version : Xpresso custom attributes ?

InfinitySpiral
01-05-2013, 01:30 PM
Hi I am new to xpresso and Cinema 4D and have few questions.I have previous experience with Softimage ICE and Houdini .
Is it possible in xpresso to store custom data and using it later inside the same xpresso tag.
The simplest example would be to store point position as a custom attribute of geometry and than use it in later state in same xpresso tag.From looking around all I could find is, people use duplicate of the same geometry and using it as a reference for the point position .
And how about custom attributes saved per point or per object and possibility to transferring them from one object to another.From what I am seeing this is not possible or maybe I am missing something.Also as I see xpresso doesn't have dynamic atributes like point velocity, mass, friction and point generators but if it had you wouldn't need TP I guess :) .

It's great that you can drag any attribute and control it but not be able to store custom attributes and be able to transfer them from one object to another it
it makes xpresso somehow limited only to simple piping and math operations(expressions).
I tried to use Python node but this is also kind of limited from what i see because the data it's self contained and you can't pull it later with node like get data for example.
As I saw in TP you kind of have that ability to store data to particle groups and than pass it to another group but in Xpresso this seems not possible.And TP looks kind of slow to me.
Simplest thing I need right now is a way to save custom attributes, so is this posible some how in xpresso?
I like Cinema 4D a lot , especially after R14 but I think Maxon needs to boost xpresso a lot (use ICE as reference for example)and make it multithreaded. Than Cinema will be best 3d application that has a great workflow and simplicity combined with flexibility.

littledevil
01-05-2013, 03:21 PM
hi,