PDA

View Full Version : New build for 3D and VFX

leffer
01-04-2013, 06:06 PM
Hey All,

I've been doing 3D and VFX for about 10 years now, but sadly I don't trust myself to build my own machine. I really want to get into the nitty gritty of doing this soon, but wanted to ask what would be the best approach.

I visit Newegg alot, but just don't really know where to start and I don't want to get an off the shelf system, due to not being able to add on and whatnot.

My budget is around 1200-1500 and want something that can handle Cinema 4D, Nuke, After Effects and all the in-betweens. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Andy

AJ1
01-04-2013, 11:26 PM
Hey man,

A good starting place would be an Intel 3770K and an LGA 1155 motherboard.

What are the specs on your current system? You might be able to save some money by recycling some parts.

-AJ

leffer
01-05-2013, 12:01 AM
Hey AJ1,

Thanks for the response. I really want to have a system that I can upgrade with no issues. Currently I have this HP pavilion that's got an i7 w/ 9 gigs of ram. I've had that for about 3 years now.The thing is so compact that I can't simply swap out older for newer. I'd rather start from scratch with a good case and have a good system that I can beef up when that moment arrives. Ultimately, I would like to have something I can add more ram, processors, etc and whatnot as time progresses.

Cheers,
Andy

AJ1
01-05-2013, 12:11 AM
Do you have something like an Intel 860 or 920?

For $1200, you may only be able to get a system that's around 50% faster.

A good idea might be to grab a new GPU, RAM, PSU, SSD and case, and then recycle your motherboard, processor, and HDD with your OS and programs. Is your OS 64 bit?

You could maybe recycle the PSU if its big enough for your new GPU. They sometimes make the cords too short. so you'll need to grab extensions.

You could mabye grab a new MB and processor when something comes along that would be dramatically faster than what you have.