PDA

View Full Version : Computer for Rendering


kunliu
12-27-2012, 03:55 AM
Hey guys. I made a list here, based on the discussion below.

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=1039048

My list is vlad's main one.

I'm new to building computer, and when i search for these items there are also different choices. Please check my list and give me some advices and helps, thanks a lot.

I will use this machine to do some rendering and animation, using 3ds max and vray.

My list is here:

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=26279887

My case is

Corsair Obsidian Series 650D (CC650DW-1) Black Steel structure with black brushed aluminum faceplate ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Thanks again~

AJ1
12-27-2012, 11:39 AM
Hey man,

I know I make the same comment on everyone's build threads, but you really don't need a $180 PSU for a regular PC.

I'm not sure if that case would hold that dual 120mm radiator for your CPU cooler. You might be able to get away with a just a large air cooler.

If you really want to save some money, you could also get a cheaper case.

You'll also need some ram and a GPU. :p

-AJ

kunliu
12-27-2012, 05:27 PM
Thank you very much for viewing.

RAM: I'm considering

CORSAIR Vengeance 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory Model CMZ32GX3M4X1600C10

PSU

Now i m considering these 2:

CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply $90

and

SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold ((SS-650KM Active PFC F3)) 650W ATX12V V2.3/EPS 12V V2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply $90

Don't know which one to choose.

And about the GPU the reason I didn't choose is because I don't know which one is better for 3ds max for iray and quick realistic viewport showing.

Here are 3 I want to choose from:

Refurbished: EVGA 03G-P3-1595-RX GeForce GTX 580 (Fermi) 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card $370

EVGA 04G-P4-3687-KR GeForce GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card $560

PNY VCQ4000-PB Quadro 4000 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready Workstation Video Card $728

Can u give me some advices?

tswalk
12-27-2012, 06:34 PM
either of those PSU's should be totally sufficient.

kunliu
12-27-2012, 08:55 PM
Thanks for your advices. Just find another question:

Will my motherboard fit in my case?

ASUS P9X79 WS LGA 2011 is a SSI CEB board, while the case Corsair Obsidian 650D only support ATX and mATX mobo.

Regards~

tswalk
12-27-2012, 09:10 PM
it should be ok... the only thing that you may run into is a mounting hole missing or the fact that it is a bit longer and will cover your cable management slots a little.

to be on the safe side though you can alway shoot an email to corsair

kunliu
12-28-2012, 12:54 AM
Hey guys, I just saw a workstation on dell outlet

Please check weather it is worth it

Precision T7600

Processor: Intel Xeon Six Core E5-2620 Processor (2.0GHz, 15M, 7.2 GT/s,Turbo)
Genuine Windows 7 Professional
Dell Outlet Precision Fixed Workstation T7600, 1300W Tower
2TB, 7200 RPM 3.5 inch SATA 6Gb/s Hard Drive
16GB, DDR3 RDIMM Memory, 1600MHz, ECC (4 x 4GB DIMMs)
8X DVD +/- RW Optical Drive
2.5 GB Nvidia Quadro 5000,Dual Monitor,2DP and 1DVI

The price is $2349

This computer is dell outlet with dent and scratch

Since I never build the computer before, maybe dell is a good choice. and about this computer,the GPU is quadro 5000, it seems that the GPU itself will worth $1700

Please give me some advices my friends, thanks a lot!

AJ1
12-28-2012, 11:00 AM
Hey man,

The Quadro 5000 is a few years old. I just looked on eBay, and there are several listed at around $700 with no bids.

That Xeon processor would be a big downgrade from the i7 6 core. Even two of those would bench mark bellow the i7 for 3D rendering.

-AJ

kunliu
12-28-2012, 08:13 PM
Thanks AJ, i think maybe it is still better to build by myself.

Just a question. If I do rendering using vray for 3dmax, how does the CPU and GPU works?

I find some interesting youtube video talking about the CPU and GPU rendering, seems like the GPU is quite fashion and much faster(using iray i guess :shrug: ). Dose that mean CPU is not so important?

If i want to put money on one of these two, which one should i put more?

Also can anyone tell me is RAM important for rendering?

I'm kind of from the ancient time... Because when i do rendering at office, there is a very big machine server there as a render slave(a lot of small light shining and that beast not look like a computer :lightbulb ).
I know my office computer itself is very old, but with the help of that server, there will be a lot of addition bucket to do the render.

In short, I don't know which one is more important:
RAM/CPU/GPU? :banghead:

Best regards, and happy new year now~

imashination
12-28-2012, 09:34 PM
ram has no impact on render speed so long as theres enough. In most cases 4-8 gigs will be enough, only the very heaviest scenes will need more, typically 12/16 gigs is a good safe amount, but bumping it to 32 gigs doesnt cost much more.

render speed is 99% about your cpu unless youre specifically choosing a gpu renderer, of which there are few.

kunliu
12-29-2012, 01:23 AM
Thank you very much Matt! Well then why put money on GPU? I thought the GPU is important for 3D jobs like rendering since I was in college like 7 years ago... :cry:

So is Graphic Card useless for vray rendering in 3Dmax?

Thanks again and best wishes!

tswalk
12-29-2012, 01:39 AM
for IPR the GPU is pretty important... but for actual rendering no, the CPU power is important.

imashination
12-29-2012, 10:33 AM
The two most common misconceptions about hardware and rendering; ram has no impact on render speed, unless you run out of it, and the gpu has no impact on render speed, unless you go for a specific gpu render engine, but realistically the only ones out there that are generally usable are iray and vrays new gpu mode. But still, youre better off just using the cpu to render when making render nodes, a gfx card can be added at a later date if needed.

So no, dont bother adding a gfx card.

CGTalk Moderation
12-29-2012, 10:33 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.