PDA

View Full Version : Telling the difference between COFFEE and Python?

Navstar
12-14-2012, 04:21 PM
I'm not a programmer by any means. But what are some visual clues to tell if a script is written in Python or COFFEE?

(And just for fun, does COFFEE actually stand for something?)

Per-Anders
12-15-2012, 02:53 AM
For a non coder you can identify COFFEE as separate from Python visually several ways.

Firstly in COFFEE the lines end with a semicolon ; while in Python they do not.

Python requires importing of various libraries before it will function, while COFFEE is a fully integrated language and so these are implicit, as such at the top of any Python script you will find some lines such as

import c4d
from c4d import gui

COFFEE variables must be declared before use with the "var" keyword i.e.

var index = 0;

While in python no var keyword is necessary

index = 0

Conversely function calls in Python must start out with the "def" keyword

def someFunction(self, a, b):

While in COFFEE no such keyword is required

main(a,b) {

COFFEE code uses curly bracket braces around blocks of code

if (a > 10)
{
b += a;
a = 0;
}

While Python uses a colon to designate branching into the next cocde block and the block is simply indented with no braces

if a > 10:
b = b + a
a = 0

Because of this use of whitespace Python scripts have a different visual look with a lot more indentation than COFFEE scripts.

Comments in COFFEE use the double forward slash // while in python they start with a hash #.

Because Python uses a library to access Cinema's function calls and because the default method of importing that library is simply "import c4d" then you will see a lot of "c4d.SOME_VALUE" or "c4d.SomeFunction()" in Python while in COFFEE you would simply see "SOME_VALUE" or "SomeFunction()" instead without the explicit "c4d" in front.