PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a young come-up

tcmortenson
12-10-2012, 08:10 AM
Hey all,

My name is Tanner, and I am currently a student attending UT Dallas in the animation/design program here. It is my first year, and so far I am loving it. I decided to take the Modeling and Texture route, taking 'Modeling & Texturing I' next semester. While at the moment I am interested in character modeling, I am also interested in Animation. I may take an intro Animation class as well to get some more insight into what its all about..

I'm here though to seek some advice on the right path and just have a question or two to ask if you wouldn't mind helping. Before starting in the animation school here at UTD, I was very interested in Architecture, and actually majored in it at Ariz St for a year. It was a very selective program, and unfortunately I did not make it into the program but to this day am still interested in the design of buildings and houses. And while I am interested in modeling, I can't help but think that I'd have more "fun" or enjoy doing houses/buidlings/landscapes or whatever field that is.

What I'm asking is, are there any specific jobs that might fit the criteria above, as in designing houses and buildings for films or games? If so, how might one get started on that track and what is the official job title?
Also, any feedback on the Modeling field, what to expect, what to do/not to do, what to learn, etc.
Any and all insight would be hugely available!

Thanks for your time!
Tanner

mr Bob
12-11-2012, 08:38 PM
If your interested in the design of buildings you should be doing a course in Architecture. There you will use a variety of tools to work through your concepts. The only role I can think of that's modelling buildings is that of working as a visualization artist in a firm of architects or sub contractors. So you have to decide if you want to be the guy designing the buildings or the guy who models and renders other peoples vision.

b

CKPinson