PDA

View Full Version : Windows XP Pro ? and License


kenmac
12-08-2003, 04:41 PM
If I purchase Windows XP Pro can I install it on 5 different computers?

Locutus
12-08-2003, 04:48 PM
Wrong forum buddy!!!

leigh
12-08-2003, 04:48 PM
Nope... you need some kind of site license (although I'm not sure if you can get site licenses) for Windows to do that. Or simply purcahse 5 different licenses (the most logical option).

I should think that installing the same copy of Windows (or any program for that matter!) onto any number of computers (apart from the original workstation) is illegal ;)

LittleFenris
12-08-2003, 04:51 PM
Yeah, installing XP on that many computers is definitely illegal. You need to purchase 4 extra licenses to do that legally. Plus you have to activate XP Pro through Microsoft...I'm sure they would notice the same copy of XP being activated on 5 computers all within a day or whatever.

kenmac
12-08-2003, 04:53 PM
Thanks Leigh......
Locutus, thank you for your help.
:scream:

Locutus
12-09-2003, 05:11 AM
Sorry dude...........your post was in the wrong place :shrug:, but I suppose I could have been a little more helpful. So, I apologize.

Anyway, everyone has said everything that needs to be said. I hope you get the XP licenses you need.

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 10:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.