PDA

View Full Version : Renderfarm Services vs Pre-Built Renderfarms

Pri3
12-01-2012, 09:06 AM
Heylo. I've been considering alternative options for rendering---either subscribing to a rendering service (like RenderRocket, Renderbus and so on) or buying a pre-built render farm. I've heard that BOXX, Dell and HP manafacture renderfarm equipment but where could I find a pre-built renderfarm to purchase? How difficult are these to set up and start using? I don't know too much about either so I would like some insight on whichever alternative is the most easiest / convenient, and inexpensive to render personal projects.

I'm a recent graduate from art school and used to use the renderfarms provided to us by the school back when I was a student for my ZBrush and Maya projects. But now just using batch rendering on my desktop (i7, 12 GB RAM), it would take weeks so I want to expedite the process.

Thank you very much in advance!

tswalk
12-01-2012, 10:50 AM
here's my opinion...

if you've got a paying job to do, the short term costs for cloud based services could be easily integrated into your project fees and billable hours to your client.

however, in the long term... cloud services can get ridiculously expensive and for huge long-term projects it will take a major bite out of your profits.

it would be wise to do your math to see if investing in a smaller/ scalable farm makes sense now or later when you can afford to do it.

unless your independently wealthy with unlimited resources at hand.. then i'ld say, why the hell are you asking us.. just go buy it. :)

AJ1
12-01-2012, 12:08 PM
I agree with Troy.

The render farm services are great for professional work and one time projects on a deadline. Its usually more cost effective in the long term to build your own setup.