PDA

View Full Version : Doom 3 and Lightwave?


sqitso
12-08-2003, 01:52 PM
Does anyone know for sure that modeling for Doom 3 can be done with Lightwave? I know they are using Maya for Animation, but I keep seeing posts saying that modeling is done in LW. Why they wouldn't just use Maya for everything I don't know, but I was looking for confirmation.

Thanks guys.

LittleFenris
12-08-2003, 01:54 PM
Originally posted by sqitso
Why they wouldn't just use Maya for everything I don't know, but I was looking for confirmation.

Cause in my experience, LW is much easier to model with. :)

sqitso
12-08-2003, 01:58 PM
Normally I would agree with you 100%. I recently worked at a game studio who migrated to Maya because of the modeling tools. The art director stated that the lack of built in edge tools and several utilities required for low poly modeling was the reason they did not opt for the cheaper LW package.

Stone
12-08-2003, 02:14 PM
few studios use maya for modeling. obviously its always a matter of taste, but maya is close to the worst modeler out there. i still find lightwave the better with xsi as a close second. edgetools is and always will be an excuess. they are never required for any given task and everything can be done without them, but obviously if you've grown up with edges and they suit your modeling style you might find selecting points in its place to be a limitation, though an imaginary one.

/stone

evilemil
12-08-2003, 02:47 PM
>Does anyone know for sure that modeling for Doom 3 can be done with Lightwave?

this stuff can be done in LW, for sure.
as you do not need to put uvs on the models (highpolys), you can stick stuff together.
The first infos claimed, that the highpolys were done in LW, now they say, they were done in Maya....
It is all about marketing.

You can do Doom3 stuff in almost every package, it is only your mind, that is the limit (and perhaps ones laziness).

actually i am working on a game, (far cry) where we use max to do similar stuff like ddom3.
all the stuff could have been done in LW, but max has (like Maya) some advantages (changing splines of lofts afterwards...)., it was a little bit more comfortable (and not a bit worse than doing it in LW).

UserDelta
12-08-2003, 02:52 PM
StonePXD: i agree with you mostly there but i gotta disagree with selecting points not being a limitation because there is a small one that i think of. I'll use the beveling of a cube as my example.
so say you you have a cube and wanted to bevel around 3 sides of a polygon like this:
http://www.tittiwinkle.com/temp/boxbeveled2.gif
you couldnt do it in two steps(ie. select, bevel) http://www.tittiwinkle.com/temp/boxselect.gif
cause you'd get this.http://www.tittiwinkle.com/temp/boxbeveled.gif


this of course doesnt mean that you cant do it with just points as i've done pretty simply. just that it could suck if you had a lot more edges you wanted to bevel :)

but then if lightwave could have smarter point selection, be it in 8 or a good plugin, that wouldnt be a problem.

anyways i think it doesnt matter, if you have some good technique in any program, you could kick ass. if you art director thinks lightwave cant handle low poly modelling without edges then i just presume he doesnt know how to model without edges.

LittleFenris
12-08-2003, 03:04 PM
couldn't you get that same effect in LW by beveling, moving those polys in line with the other face, then merging the two polygons? I guess its more steps then it would be in the other program?:shrug:

sqitso
12-08-2003, 04:25 PM
Again.. That would be a bevel edge. Select the edges and bevel. It may be called camfer in Max. Now I hear that LW 8 will encompass these edge tools. If this is the case I doubt there will be too many more exscuses as to why more games studios aren't using LW.

kurv
12-08-2003, 04:37 PM
id is using LW to model with. All the files for the game engine are actually .lwo :)

If you need more info you can view this thread..

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=62164&highlight=doom

evilemil
12-08-2003, 05:44 PM
sqitso: get this plugin : http://www.daz3d.com/pages/dp/development/EdgeBevelP.zip

it is not as comfortable like chamfer edge, but it works. it seems to have the same functionality like the LW8 one (guessing from screenshots, as we have not seen any option menus)

NeptuneImaging
12-09-2003, 03:37 PM
I did find a tool called POZ Extender, which allows you to extend polys only by using their points...

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 09:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.