PDA

View Full Version : 3D animation

magicoreo
11-28-2012, 09:29 PM
Hello, let me introduce a bit about myself. I'm currently 17 years old and applying for colleges (preferably in california)
I've always had a great interest in 2D animation and spent much of my time animating stickfigures with Flash in my spare time. Currently I'm studying traditional art on my own with some books by Loomis and vilppu. But I have 0 experience with 3D animation itself.
Here's a little animation that i made for fun https://dl.dropbox.com/u/34642113/goreo2.swf

So anyway, what I want to do is get into 3D animation to work in the game industry or an animation studio.

I did some research the other day and found out that there are a lot of categories that include 3D animation. ( Like 3D modeling & animation, 3D animation & visual effects, Game Design and digital character animation ) My question is, which of them is most related to 3D animation that is required in the industry?
I feel like I'm a bit lost. And I don't have a proper portfolio at the moment so do I just apply next year?
Can a state university actually provide a decent education in this field? CSU Fullerton seem to have a BFA entertainment art / animation, but im not sure if that is related to what they do in game industries.

I've also heard that Gnomon and VFS are the best schools for 3D animation, but money is somewhat of a great issue for me. Are they worth the investment or is it better to go to a cheaper art school at teach 3D animation? Will I be able to take some basic 3D modeling/animation classes and transfer to these schools for credit?
Any recommendation for schools would be nice as well.

Sorry for the bombarding of questions and thank you for viewing this post.

artzolio
11-29-2012, 07:16 AM