PDA

View Full Version : Help making sure the result of an expression never go over a certain value.

Edoardo
11-13-2012, 11:23 AM
hello everybody,
beware I'm a total noob at MEL so be patient if these are the worst looking expressions you ever seen ;)
I'm creating a set of control for a head, they basically are connected via expression to blendshapes.
Now let's take the lips for example: I have 2 separated controller for the Left and the Right part plus I created a third controller that will take care of both sides at the same time.

A brief explanation:
Left = LipCtrl_L
Right = LipCtrl_R
Both = LipCtrl_B
Now this is the expression I used:

BS.Right_Smile_geo = clamp (0, 0.1, LipCtrl_R.translateY) * 10 + clamp ( 0, 1, LipsCtrl_B.translateY * 10);

BS.Right_Frown_geo = clamp (0, 0.1,- LipCtrl_R.translateY) * 10 + clamp ( 0, 1, - LipsCtrl_B.translateY * 10);

BS.Left_Smile_geo = clamp (0, 0.1, LipCtrl_L.translateY) * 10 + clamp ( 0, 1, LipsCtrl_B.translateY * 10);

BS.Left_Frown_geo = clamp (0, 0.1,- LipCtrl_L.translateY) * 10 + clamp ( 0, 1, - LipsCtrl_B.translateY * 10);

BS.Right_Narrow_geo = clamp (0, 0.05, - LipCtrl_R.translateZ)*20 + clamp ( 0, 1, -LipsCtrl_B.translateZ * 10);

BS.Left_Narrow_geo = clamp (0, 0.05, LipCtrl_L.translateZ)*20 + clamp ( 0, 1, -LipsCtrl_B.translateZ * 10);

What I'm running into is that, obviously, if I have the left controller and the right controller at their max value and then I add the third controller the blendshape basically goes to 2, is there a way to make sure this value never goes over 1?

http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/9458/controllersj.jpg

djx
11-13-2012, 12:38 PM
You may get a few ideas from watching some of HippyDrome's videos...
http://vimeo.com/53058768
This does not cover the technical aspects of actually rigging it, but its still worth a look.