PDA

View Full Version : new system for Maya


X-Ice
11-12-2012, 06:29 PM
Hi guys, I'm looking forward to buy a new system. :buttrock:
I'm doing following work:
- modelling in Maya / mudbox
- rendering in mental ray / vray
- postproduction in nuke
- texturing in photoshop and mudbox

My current system is okay to work with, but I just progressing with bigger projects and I think It's time for a new computer! :)

So that's what I thought about:



RAM = 64 GB
-> G.Skill Ripjaws Z 8x 8GB Kit, DDR3-1600, CL10-10-10-30@1.5V

Motherboard
-> Asus Sabertooth X79, LGA2011, SLI, CFX, USB 3, SATA-3

Graphic Card
-> ZOTAC GTX-670 4GB GDDR5, PCI-E x16 3.0

SSD
-> OCZ Agility 4 256GB, SATA-3, 2.5 Zoll

Processor:
-> Intel Core i7 3820 BOX, 3.6GHz, LGA 2011, 4C/8T


I have also a question about GPU rendering, what do you guys think should I buy. A normal Graphic Card or a Quardo for almost the same price? What is the big difference? And what do you think about 64gig rams... is it worth it?

Anyway you guys see I'm not the best if it's about hardware... :) But I didn't find any good source in the internet so I ask you guys.

Thx for the replies :)


CHeers X :buttrock:

AJ1
11-12-2012, 07:06 PM
Hey man,

Looks like a nice build.

If your only going to spend around $350 on the GPU, just go with a non-quadro card.

64 gigs of RAM might be over kill for Vray and Nuke.

I would check out some of the new Ivy Bridge chips like the 3770K.

-AJ

X-Ice
11-12-2012, 07:15 PM
Alright thank you man! You mean that I can't us the full range of the 64 gig ram for vray/nuke?

Do you recomment to spend more money on a better CPU than on ram?



Hey man,

Looks like a nice build.

If your only going to spend around $350 on the GPU, just go with a non-quadro card.

64 gigs of RAM might be over kill for Vray and Nuke.

I would check out some of the new Ivy Bridge chips like the 3770K.

-AJ

AJ1
11-12-2012, 07:33 PM
It depends on what your doing.

I've never used more than about 14gigs of RAM on my system with MR, Vray, and Nuke. I've read that some people have pushed 20 gigs on some large renders, but I think that's a case of poor optimization. A vast majority of my renders seem to use about 2-4 gigs.

The Ivy Bridge chips from Intel are the newest thing available, so I guess its natural to recommend them. The 3770K is the replacement for the 3820. Apparently the 6 core Ivy Bridge chip wont be out until later next year, so If you can afford 6 cores, go for the Sandy Bridge 3930K.

-AJ

tuna
11-12-2012, 07:36 PM
Avoid OCZ SSDs, they have a high failure rate compared to other brands. Go for a Samsung 830 or 840, or Intel/Crucial.

X-Ice
11-12-2012, 07:46 PM
alright, I alsmost keep the same price when I change to 3770K with 32 gigs...!

@tuna thx I'll check that :)


It depends on what your doing.

I've never used more than about 14gigs of RAM on my system with MR, Vray, and Nuke. I've read that some people have pushed 20 gigs on some large renders, but I think that's a case of poor optimization. A vast majority of my renders seem to use about 2-4 gigs.

The Ivy Bridge chips from Intel are the newest thing available, so I guess its natural to recommend them. The 3770K is the replacement for the 3820. Apparently the 6 core Ivy Bridge chip wont be out until later next year, so If you can afford 6 cores, go for the Sandy Bridge 3930K.

-AJ

sentry66
11-12-2012, 10:03 PM
I personally would still choose the 3930k over the 3770k any day for pro work. 6 cores over 4 cores and you can overclock both it anyway to even out the slight single-threaded performance gap there is at the stock speeds.

I use AE instead of Nuke and man does it love ram. Any one of my routine comps will eat up to 50+ gigs at 1080p

for 4k animation sequence renders, yeah, I'm glad I have 64 gigs of ram...

CGTalk Moderation
11-12-2012, 10:03 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.