PDA

View Full Version : setting menuItem image doesnt work


DEVILSAN
11-12-2012, 05:22 AM
well I am trying to set menuItem icon specifying image='fileNew.png' but it doesnt shows up and just the text, i would be very thankful if someone can point me the way I can have these icons show up..

here is what I am doing to show..

cmds.popupMenu('popmenu')
cmds.menuItem(l="New",i="fileNew.png")

NaughtyNathan
11-12-2012, 08:35 AM
Maya menus don't show icons. end of.

The only reason menuItem commands allow you to specify an icon at all is so that when you convert the menu item into a SHELF BUTTON it knows what icon to use for that. But you can't convert pop-up menu items to shelf buttons anyway so it's all pretty clumsily constructed.

CaptainSam
11-12-2012, 04:47 PM
You can create menus with icons using PyQt

http://pastebin.com/h9KG4pRz

DEVILSAN
11-13-2012, 01:02 AM
You can create menus with icons using PyQt

http://pastebin.com/h9KG4pRz just for icons you suggested to use PyQt, some artist doesnt even know how to run a python script and then I would have to tell them QT libraries , I think I will settle down without using icons, fine with not making UI fancy. atleast I made the most of decent UI in Maya., however thanks for the link I will keep it reference:lightbulb for future projects

babygenius55
07-20-2013, 11:31 AM
That's pretty bad when you can't find a simple file path. I too am looking for where autodesk now hides the icons for the shelves. On windows and linux. I really don't want to wait 20 minutes for a total hard drive search to complete, but since no one can answer a simple question...

CGTalk Moderation
07-20-2013, 11:31 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.